Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Rain 33° Rain

Keeping Pace

Longton Nabs Yakima Speedway Apple Cup Pole

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Defending Yakima Speedway Late Model Champion and 2008 Fall Casic winner, Mike Longton, wil start Sunday's 125-lap main event on the pole with Snohomish's Jason Fraser on the outside. Both drivers won their qualifying heat races to earn the front row starting positions.


(Yakima, WA) 4/18/09 by Kelly Hart, Yakima Speedway Media Relations


Defending Yakima Speedway Late Model Champion Mike Longton set a new track record in time trials and won his qualifying heat race to earn the pole position for the 2009 Apple Cup presented by Columbia Asphalt at ASA Sanctioned Yakima Speedway. Jason Fraser won the other qualifying heat to start on the outside front row Sunday afternoon in the $4,000.00 to win 125 lap Late Model main event. Seventy-four cars graced the Speedway pit area on a sun-drenched afternoon. There were 19 Late Models signed in to start the day. Two scratched due to motor woes.


In local points races Chet Beaman set fast time and the new track record for the RJ’s Tire Factory Super Streets. Ashley Beaman won her Trophy Dash and Heat Race. Josh Wilson won the other Trophy Dash and Bob Greiner won the remaining heat. Main event lineups for Sunday were set by time trials.


For the Burger Ranch Sportsman, John Raney started off with fast time and a new track record in time trials. Randy Marshall, Jr. won his Trophy Dash and Heat Race. Kevin Taylor won a Dash and Barry Mueller the other Heat.


Defending Pure Stock Champion Tyson Richter picked up where he left off wins in the Trophy Dash and Heat Race for the H&H Furniture Pure Stocks. Joe Estep did the same in the other Trophy Dash and Heat Race. Setting a new track record with fast time in time trials was Jeff Liebert.


Action resumes Sunday at 1pm, with the final main events for all four divisions at Yakima Speedway.


4/18/09 Results



Fast time: 37 Mike Longton 18.732 (new track record)

B Trophy Dash: 21 Jared Vorse, 64 Garrett Evans, 49 Brian Levant, 36 Joey Tanner

A Trophy Dash: 42 Jeff Jefferson, 73 Gary Lewis, 37 Mike Longton, 21 Jason Fraser

1st Qualifying Heat: 37 Mike Longton, 39 Pete Harding, 10 Owen Riddle, 36 Joey Tanner, 34 Scott Walker, 49 Brian Levant, 76 Amanda MacDonald, 10 John Boyatt, 64 Garrett Evans

2nd Qualifying Heat: 31 Jason Fraser, 73 Gary Lewis, 42 Jeff Jefferson, 21 Jared Vorse, 29 Shane Harding, 12 Dan Obrist, 90 Gary Longley, 51 Erick Hargraves


Starting Lineup for 2009 Apple Cup presented by Columbia Asphalt 125 lap main:

Inside / Outside

Row 1

37 Mike Longton / 31 Jason Fraser

Row 2

39 Pete Harding / 73 Gary Lewis

Row 3

10 Owen Riddle / 42 Jeff Jefferson

Row 4

36 Joey Tanner / 21 Jared Vorse

Row 5

34 Scott Walker / 29 Shane Harding

Row 6

49 Brian Levant / 12 Dan Obrist

Row 7

76 Amanda MacDonald / 90 Gary Longley

Row 8

10 John Boyatt / 51 Erick Hargraves

Row 9

64 Garrett Evans



Fast time: 25 Chet Beaman 21.432 (new track record)

B dash: 16 Ashley Beaman, 7 Tony Huffines, 98 Zack Beaman, 03 Ken Mullins

A dash: 51 Josh Wilson, 25 Bob Greiner, 75 Mike Easley, 91 Gary Flammang

1st Heat: 16 Ashley Beaman, 38 Dusty John, 7 Tony Huffines, 03 Ken Mullins, 02 Todd Connell

2nd Heat: 26 Bob Greiner, 91 Gary Flammang, 75 Mike Easley, 17 JC Wofford,



Fast time: 2 John Raney 23.181 (new track record)

B dash: 55 Kevin Taylor, 42 Jason Huffines, 11 Terry Taylor, 16 Barry Mueller

A dash: 52 Randy Marshall, Jr., 7 Reese Kastl, 04 Mel Patnode, 2 John Raney

1st Heat: 16 Barry Mueller, 54 Jesse Vincent, 42 Jason Huffines, 55 Kevin Taylor, 12 Ed St.Mary

2nd Heat: 52 Randy Marshall, Jr., 2 John Raney, 04 Mel Patnode, 5 Chris Van Amburg, 14 Mike Hill



Fast time: 5 Jeff Liebert 25.194 (new track record)

B dash: 36 Joe Estep, 31 Terry Cook, 87 Rob Allen, 58 Derek Raptcheff

A dash: 84 Tyson Richter, 5 Jeff Liebert, 27 Jay Younker, 09 Ron Pepper

1st Heat: 36 Joe Estep, 58 Derek Raptcheff, 16 Barry Mueller, 87 Rob Allen

2nd Heat: 84 Tyson Richter, 27 Jay Younker, 31 Terry Cook, 09 Ron Pepper

Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.