Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Rain 42° Rain

Keeping Pace


 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Del Worsham raced to his first win of the season and first win with Alan Johnson Al-Anabi Racing at the 13th annual O'Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway International Raceway.

Courtesy: NHRA Media Relations


MADISON, Ill. � Del Worsham raced to his first win of the season and first win with Alan Johnson Al-Anabi Racing at the 13th annual O�Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals at Gateway International Raceway.

Antron Brown, Jeg Coughlin and Eddie Krawiec also won in their respective categories.

Worsham drove his Alan Johnson Al-Anabi Racing Toyota Solara to a 4.135-second run at 302.48 mph to defeat No. 1 qualifier and current points leader Ron Capps on a holeshot. For Worsham, it�s his first win in over a year; his last coming at Houston Raceway Park in 2007.

�We got here and went down the track all six runs without any problem,� said Worsham. �This team was assembled to do well, win races and win a championship, and I just want to be able to do my part. It was just a huge sense of excitement!�

�Looking back on my career, I�ve made some great passes and great runs, but Ron (Capps) and Tony (Pedregon) always seem to kick my butt, so it�s just a great feeling to be able to win against him.�

In Top Fuel, Antron Brown defeated St. Louis favorite, Budweiser-sponsored Brandon Bernstein, when he drove his DirectTV/Matco Tools dragster to 3.850 at 318.02 mph. It is Brown�s second win in three final round appearances for the season and 20th win of his career.

�That was a just a phenomenal race,� said Brown. �You line up against that Budweiser car with Brandon Bernstein and Rob Flynn. I know what Rob is capable of. Rob won this race last year with �Hot Rod� (Fuller), so he knows about this track and what it can take and hold.�

            Coughlin drove past runner-up Jason Line after Line posted a red light in the final round of competition. Coughlin drove his Chevy Cobalt to a 6.588 at 208.39 mph for his third win in five final round appearances for the season.

            �There�s no question that our team has really jelled together over the past two seasons,� said Coughlin. �We�ve been racing hard, we�ve been racing smart and we�re on the good end of it now with three wins in five final rounds.�

            Krawiec rode his Screamin� Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson past runner-up Craig Treble to pick up his second win in as many races for the season. Krawiec�s run of 6.947 at 189.39 mph was strong enough for the defending world champions second career win.

            �To come out here and get my second win, it�s just a cool opportunity,� said Krawiec �It�s tough going out there and getting your first win and everyone told me that once you get your first win, it�ll get easy, but I never thought it would get this easy.�



MADISON, Ill. -- Final finish order (1-16) for professional categories at the 13th annual O'Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals presented by Castrol at Gateway International Raceway.  The race is the seventh of 24 events in the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series.



1.  Antron Brown; 2.  Brandon Bernstein; 3.  Shawn Langdon; 4.  Spencer Massey; 5.  Cory McClenathan; 6.  Tony Schumacher; 7.  Joe Hartley; 8.  Morgan Lucas; 9.  Clay Millican; 10.  T.J. Zizzo; 11.  John Smith; 12.  Kevin Jones; 13.  Doug Kalitta; 14.  Larry Dixon; 15.  Todd Simpson; 16.  Chris Karamesines.



1.  Del Worsham, Toyota Solara; 2.  Ron Capps; 3.  Cruz Pedregon; 4.  Tony Pedregon; 5.  Tim Wilkerson; 6.  Bob Tasca III; 7.  John Force; 8.  Matt Hagan; 9.  Jim Head; 10.  Jeff Arend; 11. Mike Neff; 12.  Ashley Force Hood; 13.  Jack Beckman; 14.  Robert Hight; 15.  Terry Haddock; 16.

Jerry Toliver.



1.  Jeg Coughlin, Chevy Cobalt; 2.  Jason Line; 3.  Greg Anderson; 4.  Justin Humphreys; 5.  Kurt Johnson; 6.  Greg Stanfield; 7.  Rickie Jones; 8.  Ron Krisher; 9.  Mike Edwards; 10.  Allen Johnson; 11.  Rodger Brogdon; 12.  Tom Hammonds; 13.  Larry Morgan; 14.  Dave Northrop; 15.  Steve Spiess; 16.  Johnny Gray.



1.  Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson; 2.  Craig Treble; 3.  Angie McBride; 4.  Douglas Horne; 5. Andrew Hines; 6.  Hector Arana; 7.  Shawn Gann; 8.  Matt Smith; 9.  Karen Stoffer; 10.  Steve Johnson; 11.  Junior Pippin; 12.  Matt Guidera; 13.  Michael Phillips; 14.  Joe DeSantis; 15. Bailey Whitaker; 16.  David Hope.

Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.