Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Keeping Pace

Idaho 200 News & Notes-

Stateline Speedway is located just west of Post Falls, ID. Learn more at
Stateline Speedway is located just west of Post Falls, ID. Learn more at

The 14th Annual Idaho 200 rolls into Stateline Speedway this weekend. Here's a sneak peek at the race with information on some of the driver's taking part and a bit of history on the event.

Doug Pace

The Spokesman Review


The 14th Annual NAPA Idaho 200 gets underway Friday, August 2. Featuring some of the top late model talent in the Western United States, the race is considered one of the crown jewels of short track racing in the region.


Garrett Evans is the defending champion of the Idaho 200 and will be challenged this year by the likes of three-time race winner Gary Lewis, along with many of the best local drivers that call Stateline Speedway home.


Many of the local drivers will be out to return the Idaho 200 to the Inland Empire as Kevin Richards was the last driver from the area to win the race (2011). Of the nine drivers who have won the Idaho 200, four reside in the Inland Empire (John Gamble, Rick Schultz, Richards and Darren Rupinski).


The race had been run on Sunday afternoon's until 2011 when it moved to Saturday night. Action gets underway with qualifying on Friday night then the 200-lap main event the following evening.


Tickets are available at the track with more information at or Stateline Speedway's Facebook page.


Here are some driver's to watch for in this weekend's race:


#64 Garrett Evans-

Is noted as one of the winningest driver's in Northwest late model history with main event victories spanning four decades. Comes into the 2013 NAPA Idaho 200 as the defending champion. Has two main event victories at Stateline Speedway this season. Is a multiple NASCAR Northwest Series champion.


#73 Gary Lewis-

Won three consecutive NAPA Idaho 200 championships. Has four consecutive Montana 200 victories. Is a four-time late model touring champion. Is considered one of the winningest driver's in region history based on money earned including over $60,000 in purses paid out in the state of Montana alone. Holds NASCAR Northwest Series record for consecutive pole awards in a single season.


#93 David Garber-

Is a multiple Inland Northwest Super Stock Association champion. Has earned a 2013 late model victory at Montana Raceway Park. Finished inside the top-10 in the famed Montana 200 last month. Considered one of the top active late model drivers in the Inland Empire. Second generation driver following in father Bruce's footsteps.


#83- Braeden Havens-

Finished 3rd in the 2013 NASCAR K&N Pro Series Rookie of the Year standings despite only making seven starts. Is the 2011 INSSA champion. Has started the last two Montana 200's. Finished top-3 in the 2012 NAPA Idaho 200. Will be making his 2013 NASCAR debut on August 17 at Evergreen Speedway after testing his team's NASCAR K&N Pro Series Chevrolet on Wednesday at Spokane County Raceway.


#16 Blake Williams-

Cut his teeth at Stateline Speedway in the Wednesday night program. Is considered one of the top young talents in the region. At one time was the youngest qualifier for the Montana 200 and is the youngest qualifier for the Idaho 200. Has a late model victory this season at Spokane County Raceway and finished second to Garrett Evans in Stateline's most recent late model event.


#33- Nicole Behar-

Is the youngest female driver to start the Montana 200 and is preparing to become the youngest female to start the Idaho 200. Leads Stateline Speedway's HyDrive Late Model division driver's standings. Set fast time in her Super Late Model debut coming at Hermiston's Super Oval. Team is owned and led by past INSSA champion and Inland Empire star, Mike Behar.


#24 Joey Bird-

Finished inside the top-10 in his first start at Montana Raceway Park in the track's Super Late Model division. Has multiple Sunset Speedway karting championships. Made several early season starts in Stateline's HyDrive series. Nephew of famed engine builder, Jeff Bird.


#5 Ryan Wells-

Is a two-time late model champion at Montana Raceway Park. Won the inaugural GET Rich 212 which paid a portion of the over $8,000 winner's piece in gold bars. Finished inside the top-5 in his most recent start at Stateline Speedway. Got his career started on the dirt tracks of Montana.


#17 Trevor Emond-

Is considered one of Western Canada's top late model drivers. Finished inside the top-10 in the 2013 Montana 200. Will be making his first start in the Idaho 200.. To come to Stateline Emond traveled over 10 hours from Northern Alberta. Currently ranks among top-5 driver's in the chase for the season championship at Montana Raceway Park.


#88 Justin Lofton-

Competes on the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driving for Eddie Sharp Racing. Will return to the No. 6 truck at Bristol Motor Speedway on Aug. 21. Also competes on the Robby Gordon Stadium Truck Series. Will be driving a late model for the first time since 2007. Team is owned by Travis Monett. Has one career victory on the Camping World Truck Series and is the 2009 ARCA series champion.

Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.