Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Office Hours

Alaska’s penalty for texting while driving is most severe anywhere

So far, 47 states now have bans on the serious problem of teen drivers, and others, driving while texting.

A blog at Mother Jones magazine has compiled this map that also lists the maximum penalties for first-time offender, and according to where you live, the answer can vary wildly—anywhere between $20 and $10,000.

Alaska leads the states with the stiffest penalty, a fine of up to $10,000. It also allows a sentence of up to a year in jail.

Notably, not every state bans texting. Montana is the closest example. Some states, the map shows, only ban new drivers and those driving a bus.



The Spokesman-Review business team follows economic development in Spokane and the Inland Northwest.