Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Thursday, September 19, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 49° Partly Cloudy


Frederick, three others honored by af2

The arenafootball2 all-star teams were announced today, and the Spokane Shock had three players named to the National Conference first team.

UPDATE: Here's a link to Jim Meehan's story, which explains why so few Shock were picked.

Wide receiver/linebacker Charles Frederick, who caught the winning touchdown pass in Spokane’s 50-47 playoff victory over Bakersfield on Saturday, offensive line specialist Ed Ta’amu and defensive specialist Rob Keefe all earned first-team honors.

Lineman Jerome Stevens was a second-team choice.

Despite having the best regular-season record in the af2 at 14-2, the Shock’s four honorees trailed the number picked from Florida (with six selections split between first and second team), Louisville and Oklahoma City (five each).

The af2 will dole out the remainder of its awards through Aug. 22, when the Ironman of the Year will be announced.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

SportsLink is your portal into sports news around the Inland Northwest and beyond. You'll find updates, notes and opinions, and plenty of reader feedback.

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.