Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883


Sports enrollment breakdowns finalized

This, according to the final breakdown for sports enrollment classifications purposes, is where the Washington state high schools have landed.

Sixty six schools with three-year enrollment averages of 1,304 and higher are in 4A, including opt ups Gonzaga Prep and Mead (among 4), Lewis and Clark (1,564), Central Valley (1,506) Ferris (1,379) and Rogers (1,316). They will join seven schools from the Columbia Basin Big Nine (Wenatchee, Eisenhower, Walla Walla, Richland, Davis, Moses Lake, Chiawana) to form an eastern region that will likely have three state berths combined - 1 1/2 each. Those numbers aren't determined until next year

Elsewhere -

3A (66 schools statewide): University (1,246), Shadle Park (1,177), Mt. Spokane (1,149, 105 fewer than Mead), North Central (1,105). They join seven CBBN schools (Kamiakin, Pasco, Eastmont, Hanford, Sunnyside, Kennewick, Southridge) also getting roughly three berths. That is a fairly stout 3A grouping and it won't be any easier for the Spokane schools to make state inroads. 22 opt ups from 2A or 1A make up a third of this classification.

2A (65): The Great Northern League make up changes with the arrival of East Valley and departure of Riverside and Colville. The seven-team league includes the Knights, West Valley, Cheney, Deer Park, Clarkston, Medical Lake and Pullman. Two state berths.

1A (65): Lakeside (455.5) is the biggest school in the Northeast A League, just ahead of Colville, 21 students more than Riverside. The league grows to seven, joined by Chewelah, Newport, Freeman and Kettle Falls, although there's talk the Bulldogs could drop to 2B. Jim Meyerhoff of the WIAA said, however, that the lines are drawn and appeals are seldom OK'd.

2B (62): The Bi-County has six schools (Colfax, Reardan, Northwest Christian, Lind-Ritaville, Davenport and Liberty) and Panorama three (Springdale, St. George's and Republic). Merger anyone? District 9 has seven (DeSales, Walla Walla VA Academy, Waitsburg-Prescott, Asotin, Dayton, Tri-Cities Prep and Liberty Christian).

1B (62): Bi-County has five schools, (Wilbur-Creston, Almira/Coulee-Hartline, Sprague-Harrington and Odessa joined by Valley Christian). Panorama has eight (Selkirk, Cusick, Curlew, Northport, Columbia, St. Michael's, Inchelium and Wellpinit). District 9 grows to nine (Pomeroy, Garfield-Palouse, Tekoa-Oakesdale, Touchet, St. John-Endicott, Rosalia, LaCrosse-Washtucna and Colton, plus Kahlotus), which as merged for sports with LaC-Wash.

Meyerhoff added that things won't be finalized until mid-January and expects a few opt-ups, but if I understood him correctly they won't shift the classifications.

SportsLink is your portal into sports news around the Inland Northwest and beyond. You'll find updates, notes and opinions, and plenty of reader feedback.

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.