Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Wednesday, November 20, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Day 47° Clear


All-State soccer

Every year Washington high school sports writers send a list of candidates and vote on All-State teams in sports where there is no other avenue to honor the best of the best. It was the brainchild of Rene Ferran from the Tri Cities Herald who compiles the whole she-bang and coordinates the operation. The spring is for baseball, softball and soccer. State runnerup Cheney has a pair of first-team choices in forward Austin Walker and defender Paul Holloway. Riverside's Tyler Florez also is a first-team defender. U-Hi's Mikey Ramos and EV's Andrew Mastronardi, 4A and 3A midfielders from the GSL, are second team. Herewith are the 2009 soccer all-staters: 


Player of the year — Justin Moore, f, South Kitsap.

Coach of the year — Michael Krug, South Kitsap.

First team

Forwards — Dylan Gaydosh, Stadium; Ugo Okoli, Todd Beamer; Justin Moore, South Kitsap; Marco Acevedo, Pasco.

Midfielders — Troy Peterson, Todd Beamer; Quinn Grisham, Issaquah; Andrew Clark, Pasco; KC Phillips, Stadium.

Defenders — Colin Ip, Bellarmine Prep; Kurt Stalsberg, Mountain View; Brady Espinoza, Pasco; Dan Tonkovich, Roosevelt; Connor Moe, Snohomish.

Goalkeeper — Emmanuel Martinez, Pasco.

Second team

Forwards — John Crenshaw, Marysville-Pilchuck; Oscar Diaz, Auburn Riverside; Septi Danciu, Evergreen (Vancouver); Brendan Gundry, Snohomish.

Midfielders — Drew Landram, Kentlake; Mike Ramos, University; Jake Perry, Skyview; Sean Tollan, Rogers (Puyallup); Brady Ballew, Marysville-Pilchuck.

Defenders — Lenin Ramirez, Jefferson; Kai Mumford, Olympia; Evan Johnson, Kamiakin; David Surdyk, Woodinville; Mike Smolkowski, Woodinville.

Goalkeepers — Daniel Ervin, Skyview; Eric Owen, Stadium.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Andrew Weishaar, Puyallup; Jamael Cox, Stadium.

Midfielders — James Matern, Ferris; Nico DeLaCruz, South Kitsap; Reid Jones, Cascade (Everett); Elwood Sevon, Marysville-Pilchuck; Miguel Acevedo, Pasco.

Defenders — Tommy Ellis, Jackson; Bailey Martin, Stadium; Cameron Veres, Lake Washington; Gordon Savage, Eastlake; Taylor Jackson, Auburn; Chance Johnstone, Mead.

Goalkeeper — Brian Schwartz, Skyline.


Player of the year — Michael Harris, mf, Shorecrest.

Coach of the year — Drew Thompson, Shorecrest.

First team

Forwards — Daniel Gonzalez, Yelm; Junior Ayala, West Valley (Yakima); Marcus Brandford, Lakeside (Seattle); Caden Sowers, Ferndale.

Midfielders — Michael Harris, Shorecrest; Chris Morris, Mercer Island; Quinton Beasley, Camas; James Gaynor, Columbia River.

Defenders — Nick Terrel, Shorecrest; Dhavan Vengadasalam, Auburn Mountainview; Jed Jacobsen, Mercer Island; Daniel Houston, Camas.

Goalkeeper — Forrest Marowitz, Mercer Island.

Second team

Forwards — Brian Galvan, Sunnyside; Jared Brace, Columbia River; Miguel Gonzalez, Yelm; Jordan Savage, Enumclaw.

Midfielders — Andrew Mastronardi, East Valley (Spokane); James Hoag, Franklin Pierce; Quinn Sinser, Eastside Catholic; Rene Caro, Mount Vernon.

Defenders — Kevin Bodle, Mount Rainier; Simon Kidder, North Kitsap; Forrest Chapin, West Valley (Yakima); Matt Johnson, Mercer Island; Nate Chamness, Shorecrest.

Goalkeeper — Keenan Joling, Capital.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Glenn Paden, Shorecrest; Danny Strome, Mercer Island; Race Sciabica, Bellevue; Stefano Louenberger, Franklin Pierce.

Midfielders — Cristian Gonzales, West Valley (Yakima); Garrett Musar, Shorecrest; Pete Fong, Seattle Prep.

Defenders — Brad Jackson, Bellevue; Kenny Buyco, Lakeside (Seattle).

Goalkeepers — Brian Murray, Mount Rainier; Johnny Krueger, Lakeside (Seattle); Phil Lopez, West Valley (Yakima).


Player of the year — Alberto Quinones, mf, Prosser.

Coach of the year — Joe McAulliffe, Squalicum.

First team

Forwards — Ian Houts, Archbishop Murphy; Casey Woodruff, Steilacoom; B.G. Guzman, Othello; Austin Walker, Cheney; Jake Nibley, Hockinson.

Midfielders — Alberto Quinones, Prosser; Sam Oakley, Mark Morris; Drew Grannemann, Hoquiam; Clarence Gundersen, Centralia.

Defenders — Brian Star, Lakewood; Paul Holloway, Cheney; Ryan Nicholas, Sultan; Tyler Florez, Riverside.

Goalkeeper — Doug Ehlebracht, Archbishop Murphy.

Second team

Forwards — Victor Garcia, Aberdeen; Connor Shipman, Squalicum; Mynor Maza, Prosser.

Midfielders — Brad Klees, Squalicum; Everado Lopez, Aberdeen; Evan Hindman, Black Hills; Dan Igbinoba, Cheney.

Defenders — Steven Acosta, Tumwater; Chris Garcia, Prosser; Dave Ball, Black Hills; Cole McIlvaine, Sehome; Zak Billman, Steilacoom.

Goalkeeper — Max Torres, Steilacoom.

Honorable mention

Forward — Andrew Blair, Lynden.

Midfielders — Andy Mihovilovich, Sehome; Nathan Barnhill, Sultan; Chris Melink, Mark Morris; Jordan Con, Interlake.

Defenders — Dylan Langei, Bellingham; Edgar Vasquez, Mark Morris; Adam McCuiston, Ridgefield; Andrew Furney, Burlington-Edison; Dustin Yarrington, Fife; Precilliano Martinez, Toppenish.

Goalkeepers — Erik Suarez, Othello; Gilberto Martinez, Aberdeen; Jon Suek, Mark Morris.


Player of the year — Dillon Truscott, f, Charles Wright Academy.

Coach of the year — Peter Knowles, Columbia (White Salmon).

First team

Forwards — Dillon Truscott, Charles Wright; Jose Zuniga, Granger; Eduardo Arzate, Connell; Jesus Silva, Highland.

Midfielders — Jose Cruz Najera, Brewster; Ryan McCormick, King’s; Corey Day, Orting; Freddy Barragan, Connell; Sky Tweedie-Yates, Overlake.

Defenders — Alex Escalera, Manson; Jose Tinoco, Brewster; Louy Lerebourg, White Salmon; Jose Alvarado, Connell; Ben Olp, Charles Wright.

Goalkeeper — Dan Pershall, La Center.

Second team

Forwards — Josh Neblock, Stevenson; Jose Avila, Cascade (Leavenworth); Aaron Cabrera, White Salmon; Kyle Terriere, Seattle Academy.

Midfielders — Luis Silva, Highland; Heber Vazquez, Wahluke; Quinn Murray, University Prep.

Defenders — Miguel Angel Santana, Warden; Ramon Cortez, White Salmon; Sam Hauck, King’s.

Goalkeeper — Brian Graf, Seattle Academy.

Honorable mention

Forwards — Pedro Farias, Cashmere; Carlos Pineda, Manson; Osbaldo Escoto, Manson.

Midfielders — Tim Feth, Kiona-Benton; Geoff Wacker, Coupeville; Julio Juarez, Chelan; Mark Lovrin, White Salmon.

Defenders — Zach Hollingshead, La Center; Andre Martin, Coupeville; Graham Thomas, Manson.

Goalkeepers — Dakota Huntley, Meridian; Hernan Hernandez, Cashmere.

SportsLink is your portal into sports news around the Inland Northwest and beyond. You'll find updates, notes and opinions, and plenty of reader feedback.

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.