Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Saturday, September 26, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Day 62° Clear


Bouldin on Naismith watch list

Gonzaga senior guard Matt Bouldin is one of 50 players on the preseason watch list for the Naismith Trophy. The Naismith Web site didn't have a press release, but I found this list on several other sites.

The 50 players are listed below.

The watch list was compiled the Atlanta Tipoff Club, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2009-10 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded at the 2010 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Indianapolis, IN. Blake Griffin of Oklahoma won the award in 2009.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a midseason list of 30 players. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to four finalists.


2009-10 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List:

Last name	First Name	School		Position	Class
Alabi		Solomon		Florida State	Center		Soph.
Aldrich		Cole		Kansas		Center		Junior
Aminu		Al-Farouq	Wake Forest	Forward		Soph.
Anderson	James		Oklahoma State	Guard		Junior
Babbitt		Luke		Nevada		Forward		Soph.
Battle		Talor		Penn State	Guard		Junior
Booker		Trevor		Clemson		Forward		Senior
Bouldin		Matt		Gonzaga		Guard		Senior
Brackins	Craig		Iowa State	Forward		Junior
Bradley		Avery		Texas		Guard		Freshman
Butler		Da'Sean		West Virginia	Forward		Senior
Christopher	Patrick		California	Guard		Senior
Collins		Sherron		Kansas		Guard		Senior
Davis		Ed		North Carolina	Forward		Soph.
Downey		Devan		South Carolina	Guard		Senior
Dyson		Jerome		Connecticut	Guard		Senior
Ebanks		Devin		West Virginia	Forward		Soph.
Favors		Derrick		Georgia Tech	Forward		Freshman
Harangody	Luke		Notre Dame	Forward		Senior
Harris		Manny		Michigan 	Guard		Junior
Hayward		Gordon		Butler		Guard/Forward	Freshman
Hayward		Lazar		Marquette	Forward		Senior
Henry		Xavier		Kansas		Guard		Freshman
Hummel		Robbie		Purdue		Forward		Junior
James		Damion		Texas		Guard/Forward	Senior
Jordan		Jerome		Tulsa		Center		Senior
Landesberg	Sylven		Virginia  	Guard		Soph.
Lawal		Gani		Georgia 	Tech	Forward	Junior
Lucas		Kalin		Michigan State	Guard		Junior
Mitchell	Tasmin		LSU		Forward		Senior
Monroe		Greg		Georgetown	Center		Soph.
Ogilvy		A.J.		Vanderbilt	Center		Junior
Patterson	Patrick		Kentucky	Forward		Junior
Randle		Jerome		California	Guard		Senior
Reynolds	Scottie		Villanova	Guard		Senior
Samuels		Samardo		Louisville	Forward 	Soph.
Sanders		Larry		VCU		Forward		Junior
Singler		Kyle		Duke		Forward		Junior
Smith		Tyler		Tennessee	Guard/Forward	Senior
Thomas		Isaiah		Washington	Guard		Soph.
Turner		Evan		Ohio State	Guard/Forward	Junior
Ubiles		Edwin		Siena		Guard/Forward	Senior
Varnado		Jarvis		Mississippi St	Forward		Senior
Vasquez		Greivis		Maryland	Guard		Senior
Walker		Kemba		Connecticut	Guard		Soph.
Wall		John 		Kentucky	Guard		Freshman
Warren		Willie		Oklahoma	Guard		Soph.
White		Terrico		Mississippi   	Guard		Soph.
Wise		Nic		Arizona		Guard		Senior
Wright		Chris		Dayton		Forward		Junior

Jim Meehan
Jim Meehan joined The Spokesman-Review in 1990. Jim is currently a reporter for the Sports Desk and covers Gonzaga University basketball, Spokane Empire football, college volleyball and golf.

Follow Jim online:

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.