Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883


Josh Hawkinson named to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar watch list

Washington State junior forward Josh Hawkinson is one of four Pac-12 basketball players named to the 20-member watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Friday.

The others are Arizona's Caleb Tarczewski, Colorado's Josh Scott and Jacob Poeltl of Utah.

The award is named for UCLA center Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who was named the National College Player of the Year all three years he played for the Bruins varsity team (1967-69).

The list will be winnowed to 10 players by mid-February and then five finalists will be presented to the award's selection committee in March. Here is all of Hawkinson's competition for the award:

2016 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates 

Kaleb Tarczewski, Arizona
Mamadou N'Djiaye, UC Irvine
Josh Scott, Colorado
Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville
Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga
Thomas Bryant, Indiana
Jameel McKay, Iowa State
Cheick Diallo, Kansas
Skal Labissiere, Kentucky
Diamond Stone, Maryland
Stephen Zimmerman, UNLV 
Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina 
Zach Auguste, Notre Dame
AJ Hammons, Purdue
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Damian Jones, Vanderbilt
Daniel Ochefu, Villanova
Josh Hawkinson, Washington State
Joel Bolomboy, Weber State
Devin Williams, West Virginia

Jacob Thorpe
Jacob Thorpe joined The Spokesman-Review in 2013. He currently is a reporter for the Sports Desk covering Washington State University athletics.

Follow Jacob online:

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.