Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Day 52° Partly Cloudy

Kootenai County Commission

The Candidates

Leslie Duncan

Hayden, Idaho

Residence: Hayden

Education: Earned bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from California State University Fullerton in 1991.

Work experience: Has served for four years on the board of the Kootenai County Aquifer Protection District, current chairman. Owner of Falcon Enterprises, a small business in technical services for live sports TV broadcast, for 14 years. Worked for 10 years in law enforcement in Southern California, working as a criminal investigator, reserve police officer, range master and in dispatch and records. Board member of Union Gospel Mission Women’s Auxiliary since 2012.

Political experience: Ran for Kootenai County Commissioner in 2016. In the 2018 primary, won Republican primary for commission, winning nearly 40 percent of the vote in a five-way race.

Family: Married. Has two children.

Ruben Miranda


Residence: Coeur d’Alene

Education: Graduated from Pomdale High School in 1967. Earned bachelor’s degree in psychology from Chapman University in Orange, California.

Work experience: Software developer writing software for 40 years; retired four years ago from Advance Paper Box in Los Angeles; chief information officer at Advanced Paper Box for 32 years.

Political experience: This is Miranda’s first run for political office.

Family: Married. Has two children.

Complete Coverage

Kootenai County commissioner candidates differ on building code opt-out

A Kootenai County Commission decision earlier this year to allow builders of new homes or duplexes to opt out of the county building code remains a top issue in the only competitive commissioner race on the ballot next week. Two county commissioners who voted for the deregulations were ousted in the primary.

Incumbent Kootenai County Commissioners Eberlein and Bingham lose seats

Two Kootenai County commissioners lost in Tuesday’s Republican primary.