Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Monday, October 14, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 40° Cloudy

Rookie Takes Nationals

By Compiled From Wire Services

Larry Dixon beat Bob Vandergriff Jr. in the NHRA’s U.S. Nationals to become the first rookie Top Fuel winner since Gary Beck in 1972.

Dixon covered a quarter mile at Indianapolis Raceway Park in 4.931 seconds at 293.25 mph for his fourth victory of the season. Vandergriff’s parachute accidentally opened midway through the run, slowing him to 5.330 at 181.59.

Cruz Pedregon won the Funny Car title for the second consecutive year. He drove a Pontiac Firebird owned by former NFL coach Joe Gibbs past John Force in the final. Pedregon finished in 5.075 at 304.67 for his fourth victory of the year. Force finished in 5.228 at 290.60 in a Firebird.

Warren Johnson won the Pro Stock title for the fourth straight year, beating Lewis Worden with a run of 7.059 at 197.02 in an Oldsmobile Cutlass. Rick Ward beat John Smith in the Pro Stock Motorcycle final.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email