Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Thursday, July 2, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 53° Partly Cloudy
News >  Spokane

More Counties Qualify For Federal Assistance

From Staff And Wire Reports

Nineteen more counties have been added to those eligible for individual federal disaster assistance as a result of winter storms that buffeted Washington between Dec. 26 and Feb. 10.

The counties had previously been declared eligible for public assistance and hazard mitigation.

The newly added counties are Adams, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pacific, San Juan, Stevens, Walla Walla and Whitman, state and federal officials said Thursday.

That makes 38 of Washington’s 39 counties eligible for individual assistance. Wahkiakum County in southwest Washington turned down the federal aid.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in the 38 counties can apply for temporary housing assistance, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or individual and family grants for essential needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Subscribe to the Coronavirus newsletter

Get the day’s latest Coronavirus news delivered to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter.

Swedish Thoracic Surgery: Partners in patient care

 (Courtesy Bergman Draper Oslund Udo)

Matt Bergman knows the pain and anger that patients with mesothelioma feel.