Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 49° Partly Cloudy

Idaho women win third consecutive WAC title

The University of Idaho women’s cross country team, led by Hannah Kiser, won its third consecutive title in the closest race in Western Athletic Conference history on Saturday afternoon.

The Vandals edged WAC newcomer Texas-San Antonio 48-51 in Lincoln Parish Park in Ruston, La.

Kiser was the individual champion after completing the 5,000-meter course in 17 minutes, 15.03 seconds. It was the fastest WAC Championship time since 2007 and was 10 seconds faster than second-place finisher Courtney Schultz of New Mexico State, the three-time defending individual champion.

Idaho’s Alycia Butterworth was eighth in 17:53.91 and Emily Paradis was ninth in 17:57.03.

Following the race, Kiser was named the WAC Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the Year and Wayne Phillips earned WAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time.

Barry Britt led the UI men to a fifth-place finish. Britt took third place after completing the 8,000-meter course in 24:10.48. The Vandals’ Jeff Osborn was 12th in 25:02.06.

UT-Arlington won the team title after having four runners finish inside the top nine.

WCC: The Gonzaga men took third and the women placed fourth at the West Coast Conference Championships at Fern Hill Park in Portland.

Tate Kelly led the Bulldogs’ men with an 11th-place finish. Kelly completed the 8,000-meter course in 24:12. Brent Felnagle was 21st in 24:39. Portland won the men’s title and BYU came in second.

The Gonzaga women were led by Lindsey Drake’s ninth-place finish. Drake finished the 6,000-meter course in 20:50. Lauren Bergam was 15th (21:10) and Emily Thomas was 19th (21:16).

San Francisco was first, followed by Portland and BYU.

Pac-12: Lee George finished in 24th place and the Washington State men took eighth at the Pac-12 Conference Championships at Robinson Ranch Golf Course in Santa Clarita, Calif.

George completed the 8,000-meter course in 24:14. Andrew Gonzales was 33rd in 24:24. Colorado won the team title.

The WSU women, led by Caroline Austin, took 12th. Austin finished in 33rd after completing the 5,000-meter course in 21:19.

Oregon won the women’s team title, followed by Arizona, Stanford and Washington.

Big Sky: The Eastern Washington men took ninth and the women were 11th at the Big Sky Championships in Flagstaff, Ariz.

Redshirt freshman Berenice Penaloza led the Eagles’ women. She took 29th place after completing the 5,000-meter course in 18:39.2.

Another freshman, David Thor, led the EWU men. Thor took 25th place after finishing the 8,000-meter course in 26:35.5.

Northwest: Elisabeth Spencer took fifth place and the Whitworth women claimed third at the Northwest Conference Championships at Sunset Grove Golf Course in Forest Grove, Ore.

Spencer covered the 6,000-meter layout in 23:13. Freshman Kellyn Roiko was 16th (23:51) and sophomore Christina Anderson was 17th (23:57). Lewis & Clark won the women’s title.

The Whitworth men, led by Taylor Steele, took fourth. Steele finished the 8,000-meter course in 26:40, putting him 11th place. Matt Edwards was 20th in 27:05.

Willamette won the men’s title and Lewis & Clark was second.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.