Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 74° Cloudy

College basketball: Students honor Lauren Hill


Lauren Hill’s teammates and coaches are remembering the 19-year-old college basketball player with her own inspiring words: “Never give up.”

An example she lived by as she fought a brain tumor and rallied those around her to help her achieve her dream of playing in a game.

Several hundred students gathered on the grassy quad at Mount St. Joseph in Cincinnati on Friday, spelling out Hill’s No. 22 with blue plastic cups on a chain-link fence a few hours after she died at a local hospital. Her death was confirmed Friday morning by the co-founder of her nonprofit foundation, The Cure Starts Now.

Hill attended the Division III school and played after being diagnosed with the inoperable tumor. She spent her final year polishing a layup and inspiring others to live fully.

“She taught us that every day is a blessing, every moment is a gift,” school President Tony Aretz said.

Kaminsky wins Wooden Award

Frank Kaminsky of national runner-up Wisconsin won the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball’s top men’s player.

The senior center received the trophy Friday night at the first College Basketball Awards presentation from Club Nokia in downtown Los Angeles, where his name was announced by Greg Wooden, a grandson of the late UCLA coach.

Jahlil Okafor of Duke finished second, followed by Willie Cauley-Stein of Kentucky, Jerian Grant of Notre Dame and D’Angelo Russell of Ohio State.

Stewart wins women’s Wooden

Breanna Stewart of national champion Connecticut won the John R. Wooden Award as women’s college basketball player of the year.

She received the trophy from retired UCLA star and Wooden family friend Ann Meyers Drysdale.

Stewart averaged 17.6 points, 7.8 rebounds and 3.1 assists for the Huskies, who finished 38-1 and won their games by an average of 40.6 points. She has won three national titles at UConn.

Position awards

Montrezl Harrell of Louisville won the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year award. … Stanley Johnson of Arizona has won the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year award. … D’Angelo Russell of Ohio State won the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year award. … Delon Wright of Utah won the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year award. … Kaminsky won the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year award. The winners were decided by fan votes and input from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame selection committee.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.