Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Friday, September 20, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 49° Partly Cloudy

Mead’s Ellingsen eagles way to tourney title

Mead’s Blake Ellingsen holed out from 50 yards for eagle on the last hole to shoot a 68 at the Fairways on Tuesday and wrap up Greater Spokane League player of the year honors by one stroke over Ferris’ Tanner Comes.

Ellingsen birdied No. 8, his 17th hole, and then belted a long drive on the par-4 ninth. He walked over to coach Paul Peters and asked about Comes’ score.

“He told me even-par (72),” Ellingsen said. “I was 2-under so I knew I needed a birdie to tie, and eagle to win. I was just trying to put it close and tie him. It took two bounces and hit the middle of the pin and went in. I got a little excited.”

Ellingsen finished with a 72.0 scoring average (five rounds, worst score tossed out). Comes was next at 72.25.

Gonzaga Prep fired a season-low 387 to wrap up the GSL championship. The Bullpups won all five GSL tournaments.

Comes was joined on first-team All-GSL by Mt. Spokane’s Sam Stiles, Lewis and Clark’s Isaac Hall, Gonzaga Prep’s Zachary Courson and Jack Plaster and Shadle Park’s Mitchell Weipert. Central Valley’s Jake Dringle, G-Prep’s Michael Brutocao, University’s Nicholas Dixon, Shadle Park’s Phillip Flexer, Mead’s Peter Weller and Rogers’ Harrison Geissinger made second team.

The Lewis and Clark girls shot 456 to win Tuesday’s tournament and the GSL regular-season title. Gonzaga Prep placed second.

Tigers’ senior Sierra Kersten repeated as player of the year. She shot 76 at the Fairways and finished with a 74.0 scoring average. Mead’s Lydia Kim, Gonzaga Prep’s Kelly Hooper and Hannah Rieckers, Mt. Spokane’s Megan Billeter and Cailin Spencer and LC’s Jessica McCourt landed first-team All-Greater Spokane League honors. Central Valley’s Carly Grilley, LC’s Skylar Kersten, Ren Dimico and Aubrey Martinez, G-Prep’s Jordan Jaeger and Ferris’ Anni Storey made the second team.

Hawks claim 1st Idaho trophy

Lakeland earned a trophy, maybe not the one it wanted, but still a milestone for the boys’ golf program.

The Hawks finished fourth at the State 4A tournament in Post Falls after falling in a two-hole playoff to Skyview at the Links. Twin Falls shot 302 on Tuesday for a two-day total of 611 to claim its fifth consecutive title, holding off Bishop Kelly by two shots. Lakeland and Skyview tied at 617.

“Pat them on the back, they came out and took it from us. I’m way better with that than we come out and shoot 320,” Hawks coach Mario Maddy said. “We competed throughout the entire tournament.

The Hawks, who led after Monday’s first round, shot 311 to secure the school’s first state golf trophy.

Lakeland senior Preston Roth, the first-day leader, carded a 75, finishing tied for third with Twin Falls’ Brady Nelson. The tie was broken by comparing scores on the lowest handicap holes. Nelson came out on top for the third-place medal.

Bishop Kelly junior Hunter Ostrom shot a 4-under 69, punctuated by an eagle on the par-6, 640-yard 9th, for a 36-hole total of 143, three strokes in front of Twin Falls’ Preston Nelson.

“A couple of three-putts kind of slowed me down,” said Ostrom, who won state as a freshman and finished second behind former Lakeland standout Derek Bayley last year.

Middleton cruised to the girls’ title with a two-day total of 722, 13 strokes in front of Twin Falls. Lakeland missed out on a trophy, finishing fifth.


Eagle rallied from a three-stroke deficit after the first day with a sizzling 291 to capture its sixth straight boys’ championship. Rocky Mountain (301-607) was second.

Josh Gliege carded a 65 at Avondale for a two-day 136. Rocky Mountain’s Carson Barry (71-143) was second, followed by Eagle’s Greyson Huff (69-144).

Lewiston, led by Lance Ruddell’s 74, shot 311 to hold on to third place. Post Falls (318), led by Joseph Glenn’s 75, moved up one spot to fifth. Lake City placed ninth.

Highland (352-697) rolled to the girls’ championship by 22 shots over Idaho Falls. Coeur d’Alene finished seventh, Lewiston eighth and Lake City ninth.


Weiser (391-794) cruised to the girls’ title. Kellogg (918), led by ninth-place Kaitlyn Miller (98-96), took fifth. Fruitland’s Abigail McKinney defeated Emmett’s Jessica Lyter in a playoff to win the individual title.

Buhl, behind champion Hayden Eckert (72-145), won the boys’ crown. Kellogg’s boys took third and Timberlake placed eighth.

Kellogg’s Hogan Samuelson shot 75 at Twin Lakes to place fifth.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email