Arrow-right Camera
Go to e-Edition Sign up for newsletters Customer service
Subscribe now
Spokane Shock
Sports >  Spokane Shock

Spokane Shock: Indoor Football League at a glance

The Spokane Shock announced a switch to the Indoor Football League on Tuesday, ending a six-year run in the Arena Football League. The IFL fielded 10 teams in 2015, with the Sioux Falls Storm winning their fifth consecutive title after an undefeated season. The IFL, a more regional league than the coast-to-coast AFL, features teams from Kennewick out to Green Bay, Wisconsin and down to Wichita Falls, Texas. Here’s a quick look at the current members – and how the Shock compare – in Spokane’s new indoor football league:

United Conference

Sioux Falls Storm (2015: 14-0, won United Bowl)
Founded: 2000; Joined IFL: 2009 City: Sioux Falls, South Dakota (Population in 2010: 153,888) Arena: Denny Sanford Premier Center (Indoor football capacity: 10,687)
Cedar Rapids Titans (9-5, lost United Conference final)
Founded: 2012; Joined IFL: 2012 City: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (126,326) Arena: U.S. Cellular Center (6,900)
Green Bay Blizzard (6-8)
Founded: 2003; Joined IFL: 2010 City: Green Bay, Wisconsin (104,057) Arena: Resch Center (8,600)
Iowa Barnstormers (6-8)
Founded: 1995; Joined IFL: 2015 City: Des Moines, Iowa (203,433) Arena: Wells Fargo Arena (15,181)
Minnesota Axemen (2-12)
Founded: 2014; Joined IFL: 2014 City: Bemidji, Minnesota (13,431) Arena: Sanford Center (4,700) Note: Played as Bemidji Axemen in 2015

Intense Conference

Nebraska Danger (10-4, lost United Bowl)
Founded: 2011; Joined IFL: 2011 City: Grand Island, Nebraska (48,520) Arena: Eihusen Arena (6,000)
Tri-Cities Fever (8-6, lost Intense Conference final)
Founded: 2005; Joined IFL: 2010 City: Kennewick (73,917) Arena: Toyota Center (6,000)
Colorado Crush (6-8)
Founded: 2007; Joined IFL: 2009 City: Fort Collins, Colorado (143,986) Arena: Budweiser Events Center (5,289) Note: Played as Colorado Ice in 2015
Billings Wolves (5-9)
Founded: 2015; Joined IFL: 2015 City: Billings (104,170) Arena: Rimrock Auto Arena at MetraPark (7,000)
Wichita Falls Nighthawks (2-12)
Founded: 2013; Joined IFL: 2015 City: Wichita Falls, Texas (104,553) Arena: Yeager Coliseum (7,380)
Spokane Shock
Founded: 2006; Joins IFL: 2016 City: Spokane (208,916) Arena: Veterans Memorial Arena (10,771)
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

New health insurance plans available November 1 through Washington Healthplanfinder

 (Photo courtesy WAHBE)

Fall means the onset of the cold and flu season.