Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Chiefs’ Don Nachbaur wins first Pat Quinn Award

Don Nachbaur, head coach of the Spokane Chiefs the last six seasons, Monday was named the inaugural recipient of the Pat Quinn Coaching Award by the BC Hockey Hall of Fame.

The award was established in 2015 to honor the late “hockey lifer,” who left his mark on the sport as a player, coach and executive. It is to be presented annually to an individual, regardless of their level of coaching, who helps and shares excellence by educating players in the sport.

“I am truly humbled and honored to be the first recipient of the Pat Quinn Coaching Award,” said Nachbaur in the BCHHF press release. “To be mentioned in the same breath as Pat Quinn is quite overwhelming. As a coach, I can only hope to impact people as Pat did in his life. It is with much respect and gratitude to accept this recognition.”

Nachbaur holds the Chiefs’ franchise record for wins by a coach with 234. At 424 games behind the Spokane bench, he trails only Toronto Maple Leafs coach Mike Babcock, who has 425.

Before coaching in Spokane, Nachbaur spent one season with the American Hockey League’s Binghamton Senators after coaching six seasons with the Chiefs’ Western Hockey League rival Tri-City Americans. He also coached six seasons with the Seattle Thunderbirds, another division rival.

Born in Kitimat, British Columbia, and raised in Prince George, B.C., Nachbaur is the only coach to be named WHL Coach of the Year for three separate teams, including with the Chiefs in 2011. He holds the franchise record for wins by a coach for both the Chiefs and Americans.