Arrow-right Camera
Seattle Seahawks
Sports >  Seattle Seahawks

2017 football: Five best Seahawks QBs of all-time

1) Russell Wilson


1,476-2,281 (64.7 pct.), 18,193 yds, 127 TD, 45 INT: As triggerman for the franchise’s lone Super Bowl victory and playoff appearances from his rookie season on, Wilson’s place atop this list is secure. His 56 wins are the most among quarterbacks in their first five seasons and his 99.6 career passer rating is second only to Aaron Rodgers. And don’t forget his 2,689 career rushing yards.

Wilson must lead rebuilt Seahawks offense

Here’s a declaration for you in the exhibition season: If the Seahawks are going to contend for the Super Bowl, Russell Wilson must have the best season of his career. | Read more »

2) Matt Hasselbeck


2,559-4,250 (60.2 pct.), 29,434 yds, 174 TD, 128 INT: Seahawks fans named him quarterback of the club’s 35th anniversary team in 2010, just five years after steering the Seahawks to their first Super Bowl appearance. Still the franchise’s leader in passing yards, Hasselbeck was 69-62 as a starter and was at the controls for six playoff appearances, along with playing in three Pro Bowls.

3) Dave Krieg


2,096-3,576 (58.6 pct.), 26,132 yds, 195 TD, 148 INT: Undrafted and from a defunct college, he took over as starter nine games into the 1983 season and led the Seahawks to their first playoffs – and the AFC title game. Krieg was 70-49 as a starter with four playoff berths and three Pro Bowl appearances during Seattle’s breakthrough phase. Member of the team’s Ring of Honor.

4) Jim Zorn


1,593-2,990 (53.3 pct.), 20,122 yds, 107 TD, 133 INT: The Butch to Steve Largent’s Sundance for the early Seahawks, when the expansion franchise managed to poke its nose over the .500 mark in just its third season. The AFC Offensive Rookie of the Year in 1976, his scrambling ability (1,491 rushing yards) was well suited to those early teams. Second inductee into the team’s Ring of Honor.

5) Jon Kitna


658-1,130 (58.2 pct.), 7,552 yds, 49 TD, 45 INT: Home grown in Tacoma and another small-college success (from Central Washington), he was Dennis Erickson’s find and took over from Warren Moon in mid-1998. The next year, he led the Seahawks to their first playoff berth in 11 years, but Hasselbeck’s arrival nudged him into moving on as a free agent in 2001.

Honorable mention

Warren Moon (1997-98), Rick Mirer (1993-96), Trent Dilfer (2001-04), Tavaris Jackson (2011-15), John Friesz (1995-98)

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email