Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Rain 49° Rain
Sports >  Outdoors

After toddlers issued hunting licenses in Wisconsin area rules explained

UPDATED: Thu., Dec. 7, 2017

In this Nov. 19, 2017 photo provided by Tyler Harris, Lexie Harris, 6, poses after bagging a buck in Taylor County, Wis. Lexie is among the first youngsters to bag a buck under the state’s new law that eliminates the state’s minimum hunting age. She is no stranger to the woods. Her dad, Tyler Harris, has taken her hunting since she was three. But, it wasn't until Gov. Scott Walker signed the law on Nov. 12 that Lexie could legally shoot a deer. (Tyler Harris / AP)
In this Nov. 19, 2017 photo provided by Tyler Harris, Lexie Harris, 6, poses after bagging a buck in Taylor County, Wis. Lexie is among the first youngsters to bag a buck under the state’s new law that eliminates the state’s minimum hunting age. She is no stranger to the woods. Her dad, Tyler Harris, has taken her hunting since she was three. But, it wasn't until Gov. Scott Walker signed the law on Nov. 12 that Lexie could legally shoot a deer. (Tyler Harris / AP)

HUNTING – Wisconsin officials sold 10 hunting licenses to children under the age of 1, the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel reported last week.

That came after Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker eliminated the state’s minimum hunting age in November. Previously, the minimum age to participate in a mentored hunt was 10.

The Sentinel reported that 1,722 mentored hunt licenses were sold to children 9 or younger. Fifty-two licenses went to children under 5, and 10 went to children a year old.

The youngest child to register a kill was 4.

“We don’t really have a minimum age. You have to pass hunter education,” said Madonna Luers, the spokeswoman for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.

But, the the hunter education course is too difficult for many young children, she said.

In Washington, children 10 or older may defer their hunter education once. But, they must be accompanied by a licensed hunter who is over the age of 18 and who agrees to supervise the younger hunter.

In Idaho, children as young as 8 may participate in a mentored hunt under the Passport Program. Mentored hunters must be 10 years old or older to hunt big game, turkey and sandhill crane.

Children must be 10 to hunt alone, said Mike Keckler, the spokesman for the Idaho Fish and Game Department. However, children 8 years and older may take a hunter education course.

Correction: A spokeswoman for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife mischaracterized the age at which most children can pass hunter education. The story has been corrected.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.