Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Mt. Spokane’s Malina Ama named 3A volleyball player of the year

Mt. Spokane’s Malina Ama, center,  tracks the action against Ferris on Sept. 18.  Ama was named state 3A player of the year by the Washington coaches association. (Libby Kamrowski / The Spokesman-Review)

Malina Ama of Mt. Spokane was named 3A volleyball player of the year by the Washington State Volleyball Coaches Association, announced on Wednesday via press release.

Ama, a junior outside hitter, helped lead the Wildcats to the State 3A title last month at the Tacoma Dome, topping Lakeside (Seattle) in straight sets.

Mt. Spokane coach Dave Whitehead was honored as WSVCA coach of the year for 3A.

Sophomore outside hitter Tia Allen and freshman setter Telia Allen from Mt. Spokane were named to the 3A second team. Senior setter Hoku Vargas earned an honorable mention.

Oakesdale senior outside hitter Logan Reed was named 1B player of the year and coach Brandy Brown was named coach of the year. The Nighthawks defeated Almira/Coulee-Hartline in the State 1B championship match in four sets.

Other honorees:

4A: First team – OH Katherine McEuen (sr., Mead). Honorable mention – OH Lauren Fleury (jr., University), L Ashlyn O’Keefe (sr., Gonzaga Prep).

2A: Second team – OH Eva Millan (sr., Clarkston). Honorable mention – OH Maddy Oelke (jr., Pullman), OH Mikayala Uhlenkott (soph., Pullman), S Lucy Gao (sr., Pullman), L Anaya Oka (sr., West Valley).

1A: First team – S Olivia Mikkelsen (sr., Lakeside). Second team – MB Eva Knight (sr., Freeman), L Hannah Stires (jr., Lakeside). Honorable mention – OH Rhea Jansen (sr., Freman).

2B: First team – OH Maisie Burnham (jr., Liberty), S Madi Zorn (fr., Northwest Christian). Second team – OH Paige Dawson (sr., NWC), S Madi Cox (sr., Colfax), L Ani Cox (soph., Colfax), L Kendyl Fletcher (jr., Liberty). Honorable mention – OH Aleena Cook (jr., Liberty), OH Kylie Kackman (sr., Colfax), OH Mia Tunison (fr., NWC), MB Chiara Carey (soph., NWC), MB Eliza Galbreath (jr., Lind-Ritzville/Sprague), MB Kierstyn York (soph., Colfax), S Elle Carpenter (jr., Chewelah), S Lacey Miller (sr., LRS).

1B: First team – OH Brooklyn Henley (sr., Oakesdale), OH Maddie Murray (jr., Almira/Coulee-Hartline), MB Ashley Mitchell (sr., ACH), S LouEllen Reed (soph., Oakesdale). Second team – OH Jordan Moehrle (sr., Colton), OH Whitney Dawson (sr., Selkirk), MB Gabi Isaak (sr., ACH), MB Emily Schultheis (sr., Colton), S Christa Christopherson (sr., ACH). Honorable mention – OH Aliya Rutledge (Oakesdale), OH Bree Dawson (Selkirk), MB Riley Lamb (St. John-Endicott/LaCrosse), S Jenna Couch (Selkirk), L Alynn Harder (SJEL).