Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Sunday, August 9, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Night 56° Clear

AP all-state: Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson named boys all-classification player of the year

UPDATED: Wed., April 3, 2019

Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson dribbles downcourt during in a 4A state tournament victory in February. (PATRICK HAGERTY / SR)
Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson dribbles downcourt during in a 4A state tournament victory in February. (PATRICK HAGERTY / SR)

Gonzaga Prep’s Anton Watson was named the Associated Press boys all-classification state player of the year, an honor announced on Wednesday.

Watson averaged 21.6 points, 7.1 rebounds and 3.8 assists and led the Bullpups to their second consecutive State 4A title with a 69-43 win over Mount Si in which Watson scored 33 points on 16-of-19 shooting.

Watson, who is headed to Gonzaga in the fall, was named “Mr. Basketball” by the state coaches association last month. The 6-foot-9 senior is a two-time Greater Spokane League Most Valuable Player, two-time state tournament MVP and was named AP 4A player of the year as a junior last season.

Gonzaga recruit Brock Ravet (Kittitas) was named boys 2B player of the year.

Colton’s Dakota Patchen was named girls 1B player of the year.

Other area players honored:

Boys first team: 3A: Tyson Degenhart, so. (Mt. Spokane); 2B: Erik Farias, sr. (St. George’s); 1B: Ryan Moffat, jr. (Odessa).

Boys honorable mention: 2A: Brandton Chatfield, sr. (Clarkston); 1A: Jobi Gelder (Deer Park); 2B: Issak Ottmar, sr. (Liberty); Xander Werkman, sr. (St. George’s); Carson Cloaninger, sr. (Colfax); 1B: Maguire Isaak, sr. (Almira/Coulee-Hartline).

Girls first team: 4A: Jacinta Buckley (Lewis and Clark); 3A: Aspyn Adams (MtS); 2A: Genesis Wilkinson (East Valley), Ashlyn Wallace (Clarkston); 2B: Maisie Burnham (Liberty); 1B: Gabi Isaak (ACH), Maddy Dixon (Pomeroy), Emily Schultheis (Colton)

Girls honorable mention: 3A: Jayda Noble, jr. (MtS).

Complete Associated Press all-state teams:


State player of the year, all classes: Anton Watson, sr., Gonzaga Prep.


Player of the year: Anton Watson, sr., Gonzaga Prep.

First team: Anton Watson, sr., Gonzaga Prep; Jaden McDaniels, sr., Federal Way; Jabe Mullins, jr., Mount Si; Zack Paulsen, sr., Curtis; Colten Northrop, sr., Richland.

Honorable mention: Tari Eason, jr., Federal Way; Ethan Smith, sr., Union.


Player of the year: Shaw Anderson, sr., Kelso.

First team: Shaw Anderson, sr., Kelso; Paolo Banchero, soph., O’Dea; MarJon Beauchamp, jr., Rainier Beach; RaeQuan Battle, sr., Marysville-Pilchuck; Tyson Degenhart, soph., Mt. Spokane.

Honorable mention: Maurice Barnett, sr., Franklin.


Player of the year: Clayton Whitman, sr., Lynden.

First team: Clayton Whitman, sr., Lynden; Micah Pollard, sr., Foss; Noah Pepper, soph., Selah; Elijah Pepper, sr., Selah; Steele Venters, sr., Ellensburg.

Honorable mention: Demarco Williams, sr., Renton; Brandton Chatfield, sr., Clarkston; Christian Zamora, sr., Lynden.


Player of the year: Cole Bajema, sr., Lynden Christian.

First team: Cole Bajema, sr., Lynden Christian; Antonio Salinas, sr., Zillah; Mason Landdeck, soph., Cashmere; Kody Newman, sr., South Whidbey; Hunter Ecklund, jr., La Center.

Honorable mention: Jobi Gelder, jr., Deer Park; Khalfani Cason, sr., King’s Way Christian; Tyler Linhardt, fr., King’s.


Player of the year: Brock Ravet, sr., Kittitas.

First team: Brock Ravet, sr., Kittitas; Erik Farias, sr., St. George’s; Caleb Harris, sr., Kittitas; Fano Arceo-Hansen, sr. Toledo; Matt Pearson, sr., Willapa Valley.

Honorable mention: Alex Weirth, sr., Crosspoint; Issak Ottmar, sr., Liberty (Spangle); Joe Taylor, sr., Brewster; Cade Gebbers, soph., Brewster; Xander Werkman, sr., St. George’s; Carson Cloaninger, sr., Colfax.


Player of the year: Ross Faber, sr., Sunnyside Christian.

First team: Ross Faber, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Bryan Strom, jr. Yakama Nation; Lucas Dykstra, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Ryan Moffat, jr., Odessa; Bryce Strom, jr. Yakama Nation.

Honorable mention: Maguire Isaak, sr., Almira-Coulee-Hartline; Kash Nichols, sr., Muckleshoot Tribal, Levi Rivera, jr., Riverside Christian; Sean Bitegeko, sr., Neah Bay.



Player of the year, all classes: Oumou Toure, sr., Kamiakin.


Player of the year: Keeli Burton-Oliver, jr., Eastlake.

First team _ Keeli Burton-Oliver, jr., Eastlake; Jordyn Jenkins, jr., Kentridge; Mia Hughes, soph., Woodinville; JaQuaya Miller, sr., Kentride; Jacinta Buckley, sr., Lewis and Clark.

Honorable mention: Ashlee Maldonado, sr., Sunnyside.


Player of the year: Oumou Toure, sr., Kamiakin.

First team: Oumou Toure, sr., Kamiakin; Brooke Walling, sr., Prairie; Brynna Maxwell, sr., Gig Harbor; Dalayah Daniels, jr., Garfield; Aspyn Adams, sr., Mt. Spokane.

Honorable mention: Cassidy Gardner, sr., Prairie; Jayda Noble, jr., Mt. Spokane; Tiarra Brown, jr., Bethel; Olivia Wickstrom, jr., Bainbridge.


Player of the year: Beyonce Bea, sr., Washougal.

First team: Beyonce Bea, sr., Washougal; Genesis Wilkinson, sr., East Valley (Spokane); Ashlyn Wallace, soph., Clarkston; Janealle Sutterlict, sr., Wapato; Keylie Hershey, jr., Lynden.

Honorable mention: Madison Cooke, soph., Port Angeles.


Player of the year: Hailey Van Lith, jr., Cashmere.

First team: Hailey Van Lith, jr., Cashmere; Taylor Stephens, sr., La Center; Isabela Hernandez, sr., Lynden Christian; Julianna Walker, soph., Annie Wright; Trista Hull, soph., La Salle.

Honorable mention: Grace Sterk, sr., Lynden Christian; Jalyn Sackrider, jr., Elma; Irena Korolenko, jr., Cedar Park Christian; Allison Uecker, soph., Naches Valley.


Player of the year: Talia von Oelhoffen, soph., Tri-Cities Prep.

First team: Talia von Oelhoffen, soph., Tri-Cities Prep; Macie Elliott, sr., Wahkiakum; Erika Glenn; soph., Ilwaco; Kaeley Schultz, fr., Rainier; Maisie Burnham, jr., Liberty (Spangle).

Honorable mention: Justine Benson, jr., La Conner; Kyra Gardner, fr., Raymond.


Player of the year: Dakota Patchen, sr., Colton.

First team: Dakota Patchen, sr., Colton; Gabi Isaak, sr., Almira-Coulee-Hartline; Maddy Dixon, soph., Pomeroy; Courtney Swan, soph., Neah Bay; Emily Schultheis, sr., Colton.

Honorable mention: Denise Curley Bear, sr., Taholah; Lilli Zimmerman, sr., Naselle; Jenna Andringa, soph., Sunnyside Christian; Jada Liulamaga, soph., Yakama Nation; Ashley VanDam, sr., Grace Academy; Nettie Mal, sr., Taholah.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

The journalists of The Spokesman-Review are a part of the community. They live here. They work here. They care. You can help keep local journalism strong right now with your contribution. Thank you.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

Swedish Thoracic Surgery: Partners in patient care

 (Courtesy Bergman Draper Oslund Udo)

Matt Bergman knows the pain and anger that patients with mesothelioma feel.