Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Monday, October 19, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 49° Partly Cloudy
News >  Spokane

Crowded Spokane City Hall field leads filings for August primaries

A voter casts her ballot at the downtown Spokane Public Library in this October 2018 photo. Candidates vying for offices in Spokane County in the August primary were required to file with the Secretary of State by Friday evening. (Libby Kamrowski / The Spokesman-Review)
A voter casts her ballot at the downtown Spokane Public Library in this October 2018 photo. Candidates vying for offices in Spokane County in the August primary were required to file with the Secretary of State by Friday evening. (Libby Kamrowski / The Spokesman-Review)

Several open seats at Spokane City Hall have led to a lengthy list of potential candidates heading into the August primary.

Races for mayor, City Council president and three seats on the council will all be competitive in the primary, when the top two candidates will advance to November’s general election. Seven candidates have filed for an open seat on the panel to replace outgoing Councilman Mike Fagan, who’s running for council president against Councilman Breean Beggs and candidates Phil Tyler and Cindy Wendle.

The race for mayor appeared to have just as many interested candidates, but several had dropped their names from contention by the end of the filing deadline Friday. Five people filed for the office to replace Mayor David Condon, who will reach his term limit at the end of the year. They are Jonathan Bingle, Kelly Cruz, Shawn Poole, Ben Stuckart and Nadine Woodward.

Incumbent Councilwomen Lori Kinnear and Karen Stratton will each have to defend their seats on the panel, with Kinnear facing two opponents in Liz Fleming and former Spokane City Council candidate Tony Kiepe, who filed Friday. Stratton is facing five male opponents: Jeff Martin, Andy Rathbun, Jeff Rugan, Christopher Savage and Ken Side.

Three positions on the Spokane Valley City Council are also up for grabs this year, with incumbent Councilwoman Brandi Peetz and Councilman Arne Woodard facing challengers. Peetz is being challenged by Michelle Rasmussen and Rocky Samson, while Woodard will face Lance Gurel, Albert Merkel and Adam Smith to retain his seat.

Four candidates have filed for the seat currently held by Spokane Valley City Councilman Sam Wood, who did not file for re-election.

Candidates may withdraw their candidacy by Monday. Voters may submit online or mail registrations to cast ballots in the August primary by July 29, with ballots due Aug. 6. The general election will be held Nov. 5.


Mayor: Jonathan Bingle, Kelly Cruz, Shawn Poole, Ben Stuckart, Nadine Woodward

Council President: Breean Beggs, Mike Fagan, Phil Tyler, Cindy Wendle

Council District 1: Tim Benn, Krys Brown, Michael Cathcart, Jerrall Haynes, Louis Lefebvre, Doug Salter, Naghmana Sherazi

Council District 2: Liz Fleming, Tony Kiepe, Lori Kinnear (i)

Council District 3: Jeff Martin, Andy Rathbun, Jeff Rugan, Christopher Savage, Ken Side, Karen Stratton (i)

Spokane Valley

Council Position 2: Brandi Peetz (i), Michelle Rasmussen, Rocky Samson

Council Position 3: Lance Gurel, Albert Merkel, Adam Smith, Arne Woodard (i)

Council Position 6: Tim Hattenburg, Shaun Stanfield, Pat Stretch, Bo Tucker

Spokane County Superior Court

Position 2: Charnelle Bjelkengren (i)

Position 12: Rachelle Anderson (i)

Airway Heights

Council Position 2: Veronica Messing (i)

Council Position 5: Larry Bowman (i), Jared Lacambra

Council Position 7: Dakota Lawrence, Jennifer Morton, Sarah Slater


Council Position 2: Vincent Barthels (i), Leslie Fuqua

Council Position 5: Ryan Gaard (i)

Council Position 6: Allan Gainer, Jill Weiszmann (i)

Council Position 7: Dan Hillman, Dan Hilton (i)

Deer Park

Council Position 2: Dee Cragun (i), Carla J. Phillips

Council Position 4: Heather Newsom, Caleb Stapp

Council Position 5: Ron Scholz


Council Position 2: Mark Matherly, Jamie Paden (i)

Council Position 3: Kevin Finley, Steven Walk, Dave Watling

Council Position 4: Valerie Rogers (i)

Council Position 5: Emily Thomas (i)


Council Position 2: Larry La Bolle (i), Adam Papini

Council Position 3: Brianne Howe, Carole Meissner (i)

Council Position 4: Curtis Loucks

Council Position 5: Michael VanHeel (i)

Liberty Lake

Mayor: Shane Brickner, Steve Peterson (i)

Council Position 1: Phil Folyer, Dg Garcia

Council Position 3: Dan Dunne (i), Holly Woodruff

Council Position 5: Annie Kurtz, Bob Moore (i)

Council Position 7: Cris Kaminskas (i), Jeanette Marie Nall, Tom Stanley

Medical Lake

Council Position 1: Donald Kennedy

Council Position 2: Elizabeth Rosenbeck

Council Position 5: Mitch Hardin, Arthur Kulibert

Council Position 6: Heather Starr

Council Position 7: Jessica Roberts (i)


Council Position 3: Kate McLachlan, Ed Mack

Council Position 4: Andrew Van Hees (i), Jay Molitor

Council Position 5: Shaun Culler (i)


Council Position 3: Clint Stevenson (i)

Council Position 4: Micki Harnois (i)

Council Position 5: Bill Benson (i)


Mayor: Melissa Holling

Council Position 3: Dana Pendergrass

Council Position 4: Clyde Sample (i)

Council Position 5: Steven Anderson (i)


Council Position 1: Cliff Curtis

Council Position 3: Devin Billington

Fire Districts

Spokane Valley Commissioner Position 1: Randall Bean, Patrick Burch (i), Bradley Mertens

Spokane Valley Commissioner Position 2: Mike Kester, Ron Schmidt (i)

FD 3 - Position 1 - Sharon Colby (i), Michael Heiydt, Cal Lindsay

FD 4 - Position 1 - Roger Krieger (i), Troy Rux

FD 5 - Position 1 - Isla Durheim (i), Ed Marston

FD 8 - Position 1 - Andy Rorie (i)

FD 9 - Position 3 - Jim Bennett (i)

FD 10 - Position 1 - Kevin Haughton, Gordon Hester, John Koberstine

FD 11 - Position 1 - Brian LaShaw (i)

FD 11 - Position 3 - Wayne Tuttle

FD 13 - Position 1 - Eileen Weyrauch (i)

Water Districts

East Spokane - Position 2 - Rick Scott

Whitworth - Position 3 - Chan Bailey (i)

Spokane County 3 - Position 1 - Frank Pierson (i)

Irwin - Position 1 - Sean Charbonneau

Valley of the Horses - Position 3 - Rhonda Swenson

Cemetery Districts

West Greenwood - Position 1 - Edward Lynch (i)

Moran - Position 1 - Kimberley Taylor

Moran - Position 2 - Randal Rosman

Elk - Position 1 - Becky Shannon

Milan - Position 1 - Dennis Anstadt (i)

Sewer Districts

Liberty Lake - Position 1 - Bill Genoway (i)

* An (i) after a name indicates the candidate is the incumbent.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Subscribe to the Coronavirus newsletter

Get the day’s latest Coronavirus news delivered to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter.

New health insurance plans available November 1 through Washington Healthplanfinder

 (Photo courtesy WAHBE)

Fall means the onset of the cold and flu season.