Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 30° Partly Cloudy
News >  Education

Newcomers ready to campaign for Spokane school board as three incumbents decline to seek re-election

A new hallway waits to be traversed by students in the newly remodeled Franklin Elementary School in Spokane, Wash. on Jan. 7, 2019. (Libby Kamrowski / The Spokesman-Review)
A new hallway waits to be traversed by students in the newly remodeled Franklin Elementary School in Spokane, Wash. on Jan. 7, 2019. (Libby Kamrowski / The Spokesman-Review)

Three incumbents declined to file for re-election to the Spokane Public Schools board of directors this week, setting the stage for newcomers to help tackle public education policy and budgeting.

Incumbents Sue Chapin and Brian Newberry did not file for re-election Friday, ending a week of speculation. Last week, board member Deana Brower announced that she wouldn’t seek re-election to a six-year term at Position 2.

All three races drew at least three candidates, meaning that the seats won’t be decided until November.

In Spokane, three candidates will contest Position 1. Nikki Lockwood filed on Tuesday, and was joined later in the week by Brian Trimble and Katey Treloar.

Trimble, who owns an early learning center on the South Hill, said he hopes to “help make decisions that can impact our community at large and educate children.”

Educated at Eastern Washington University, Trimble has a master’s degree in curriculum design and has taught at several schools throughout the district, including Hamblen, Sheridan and Holmes elementary schools and Sacajawea and Glover middle schools.

Treloar has a background in education and taught for seven years at Hutton and Hamblen elementary schools. She worked with the Bite 2 Go nonprofit program, which provides weekend bags of food for children.

“I was inspired by the hard work that they were doing,” Treloar said of the current board.

In the race for Brower’s seat, Jenny Slagle and Kelli MacFarlane were joined on Thursday by Luc Jasmin III, who owns the Parkview Early Learning Center in north Spokane.

Jasmin, who has a degree in elementary education from Eastern Nazarene College in Massachusetts, said that “as a person of color, I hope to bring a certain experience to the table.”

Jasmin has worked as a mentor at Glover Middle School.

“I felt the time was right to run,” she said.

Newberry’s Position 4 seat, which is for two years, drew four candidates. Erin Georgen and Eric Cultum filed early in the week; they were joined in the last two days by Bill Baxley and Kevin Morrison.

Baxley is a longtime educator in Washington, California and South Africa. He retired in 2015 and returned to Spokane.

“I think I could be a voice for certain issues,” said Baxley, who spent much of his career working in alternative schools. “Also, I hear a lot of people complaining about schools, but I never see their names on the ballot.”

Morrison, who filed on Friday, has served the district in several capacities, currently as the Interim Director of Safety, Risk Management and Transportation. That position ends June 30.

He retired last summer after 16 years with the district, including five years as director of communications and public relations. Morrison also worked in capital projects.

“I’ve had a lot of encouragement from people in the community and from the staff and former and current board members,” Morrison said of his decision to run. “And I think we need continuity.”

In the Central Valley School District, retired teacher John Myers will challenge incumbent Cindy McMullen.

“I think the CV school district is a great place, and I’d just like to be a part of that, serving the community,” said Myers, a teacher for 33 years.

After 10 years as a special education teacher in Shelton, Washington, Myers worked at Liberty (Spangle) before becoming an assistant principal in the Lakeland School District in Rathdrum, Idaho.

For four years he was principal at Lakeland High School.


(i) denotes incumbent

Position 1 – Nikki Lockwood, Katey Treloar, Brian Trimble

Position 2 – Luc Jasmin III, Kelli McFarlane, Jenny Slagle

Position 4 – Bill Baxley, Eric Cultum, Erin Georgen, Kevin Morrison


District 2 – Denny Denholm (i)

District 3 – John Hatcher, Bob Olson (i)

District 4 – Michael Cannon, Dorcas Wylder (i)

Central Valley

District 1 – Cindy McMullen (i), John Myers

District 3 – Susan Dolan, Debra Long (i)

District 4 – Keith Clark (i)

Great Northern

Position 1 – Ken Pegg (i)

Position 2 – Amy Shulund (i)

Position 3 – Jill Ericson, John Pegg (i)

Nine Mile Falls

Position 1 – Mac Mikkelsen (i)

Position 2 – Kirsten Foose, Mary McAdam, Eric Olsen

Position 3 – Bill McBride (i)

Medical Lake

District 2 – Rod Von Lehe (i)

District 3 – Felicia Jensen (i), Laura Parsons

District 4 – Ron Cooper (i)


District 1 – Bill Morphy (i)

District 5 – Angela Keebler (i)


District 3 – Henry Browne Jr. (i), James Weathers

District 4 – Stacy Nicol (i)

District 5 – Bill Johns, Mitch Swenson (i)

East Valley

District 2 – Laura Gates (i)


District 1 – Kynda Browning (i)

West Valley

District 3 – Bob Wentworth (i)

District 4 – Adam Mortensen (i)


Position 2 – Roger Peterson (i)

Position 4 – Jeffrey Anderson (i)

Position 5 – Karmalee LeSieur, Ian Wagner (i)

Deer Park

District 4 – Carri Breckner (i)

At large – Eric Keller (i)


District 2 – Scott Ellsworth (i)

District 3 – Sandra Huggins (i), Joslyn James

District 4 – Robert Carroll (i)

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe to the Coronavirus newsletter

Get the day’s latest Coronavirus news delivered to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter.