Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 63° Cloudy
News >  Spokane

Education Notebook: STCU awards $27,000 in grants to area teachers

Spokane Teachers Credit Union continues its tradition of honoring local educators this year by awarding over $27,000 in grants. So far, 80 lucky teachers have been drawn at random to receive a $250 grant to be spent on any classroom need. Another 28 winners will be drawn in early November. These awards are available to 23 public school districts in Eastern Washington, representing over 6,500 educators and school staffers.

The following winners are listed alphabetically by school district.


Nicole Ricard and Kathi Tribby-Moore.

ESD 123

Mariza Fonseca and Catie Joyce-Bulay.

Central Valley School District

Mike Laws, of Central Valley High School; Matthew West, of Adams Elementary School; Jenny Bryant and Mikayla Taylor, of University High School; Jacquelyn Robinson, of Adams Elementary School; Olga Samolovov, of Sunrise Elementary School; Faith Gartner, of Central Valley Early Learning Center; and Kimberly Rosetti, of Adams Elementary School.

Cheney School District

Stacy Spakousky, of Cheney Middle School; Harvey Curtis, of Snowdon Elementary School; Shasta Ruddock, of Cheney High School; and Alyssa Ducken, of Sunset Elementary School.

Coeur d’Alene School District

Theresa Moran, of Project SEARCH; Kerry McGrath, of Northwest Expedition Academy; Joy Shoup, of Dalton Elementary School; Brooke Hutchins, of Coeur d’Alene High School; Rachel Chamberlin, of Atlas Elementary School; Katie Duesterhoeft, of Hayden Meadows Elementary School; Tammy Daddato, of Woodland Middle School; and Alicia Posey, of Northwest Expedition Academy.

Cusick School District

Jenette Clary and Monica Allen, of Cusick Elementary School.

Deer Park School District

Jennifer Dalager, Megan Burfeind, and Courtney Johnson, of Deer Park Elementary School; and Susan Olson, of Deer Park Middle School.

East Valley School District

Nicole Talbert, of East Valley High School; Colleen Piehl, of Continuous Curriculum School; Alexis Revis, of Trentwood Elementary School; aand Jacqui Peterson, of Continuous Curriculum School.

Freeman School District

Jim Rae, of Freeman Middle School; and Hannah Attridge, of Freeman High School.

KTEC (Kootenai Technical Education Campus)

Julie Meyer and Jenne Weirick.

Lake Pend Oreille School District

Mary Bird and Malia Meschko, of Sandpoint High School.

Lakeland School District

Keith Neuberger, of Timberlake Junior High School; Lynn Atzet, of Mountain View Alternative High School; Deanna Watkins, of Twin Lakes Elementary School; and Sarah Howard, of Betty Kiefer Elementary School.

Liberty School District

Kristin Berry, of Liberty High School; and Megan Anderson, of Liberty Elementary and Junior High School.

Mead School District

Quantae Anderson, of Mead High School; Andrea Anderson, of Melissa Mather, of and Tara Murto, of Mountainside Middle School; Lehsley Whitman, of Shiloh Hills Elementary School; Amanda Davis and Julie Becker, of Farwell Elementary School; and April Schober, of Colbert Elementary School.

Medical Lake School District

Susan Sweet, of Michael Anderson Elementary School; and Abby Clark, of Hallett Elementary School.

Newport School District

Kiara Bento, of Stratton Elementary School; and Karen Behrend, of Newport High School.

Nine Mile Falls School District

Michael McCune, of Lakeside High School; and Tara Smith, of Lakeside High School.

Pasco School District

Galina Shelestovskiy, of James McGee Elementary School; Brandi Thorne, of McClintock STEM Elementary School; Marzieh Flores, of Three Rivers Elementary School; Melissa Sprenger, of Emerson Elementary School; Linda Grover, of Virgie Robinson Elementary School; Lorna Rodriguez, of Pasco High School; Nicole Rainsberry, of Rowena Chess Elementary School; and Laurel Jackman, of McClintock STEM Elementary School.

Post Falls School District

Caitlin Hicks, of Post Falls Middle School; Brooke Snyder, of New Vision High School; Pamela Juliano, of Seltice Elementary School; and Amber Miller, of Post Falls Middle School.

Riverside School District

Leslie Cushman, of Chattaroy Elementary School; and Jenny Anderson, of Riverside Middle School.

West Bonner School District

Retta Knapp, of Idaho Hills Elementary School; and Steph Eldore, and Priest Lake Elementary School.

West Valley School District

Jaime Groh, of Millwood Kindergarten Center; Teandra Marshall and Tammy Rogers, of Centennial Middle School; and Natasha McCanna, of Dishman Hills High School.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe now to get breaking news alerts in your email inbox

Get breaking news delivered to your inbox as it happens.