Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Day 40° Partly Cloudy

Tag search results

Tags let us describe our content with keywords, making it easier to find what you're most interested in. Use the search box to look for tags, or explore our coverage with the lists below.

Report: Basketball Hall delaying enshrinement ceremony

Basketball Hall of Fame chairman Jerry Colangelo told ESPN that this year’s enshrinement ceremony for Kobe Bryant, Kevin Garnett, Tim Duncan and five others will be delayed until 2021 because of the coronavirus pandemic

Vlade Divac, Jack Sikma are centers of attention at Hall of Fame

Vlade Divac and Jack Sikma were big men who could pass and shoot, helping redefine the post position in the NBA. The pair now await induction to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Among the others who will join them are NBA players Sidney Moncrief, Al Attles, Carl Braun, Chuck Cooper, Bobby Jones and Paul Westphal, the WNBA’s Teresa Weatherspoon and NBA coach Bill Fitch.

Ticha Penicheiro, Ruth Riley Hunter headline Hall of Fame class

Ruth Riley Hunter says her journey to the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame began while watching the 1992 U.S. Olympic men’s team. Ticha Penicheiro’s own dream started when she received a basketball as a six-year-old. Both have entered the Hall of Fame as part of a class that also included Beth Bass, Joan Cronan, Nora Lynn Finch, Carolyn Bush Roddy and Valerie Still.

Basketball Hall of Fame announces finalists for 2019

Paul Westphal, Jack Sikma, Marques Johnson and Ben Wallace are first-time finalists for the Basketball Hall of Fame. The rest of the 13 finalists have been considered before, including Chris Webber, Sidney Moncrief, Bobby Jones, Bill Fitch, Teresa Weatherspoon, Eddie Sutton, top high school coach Leta Andrews, women’s Division II coach Barbara Stevens and longtime NBA referee Hugh Evans. Marc Stein of The New York Times and Los Angeles Clippers voice Ralph Lawler are Curt Gowdy Award winners.

Thirteen join Basketball Hall of Fame

Lefty Driesell had the crowd laughing. Dino Radja fought back tears. Blue Devils and Tar Heels brought their rivalry to the Basketball Hall of Fame, and Ray Allen made a peace offering to his spurned Celtics teammates. And they did it with an assist from three of the greatest point guards in NBA history.

Pat Summitt’s spirit hovers over Hall of Fame induction ceremony

Former Tennessee star Chamique Holdsclaw and assistant coach Mickie DeMoss thank former Lady Vols coach Pat Summitt while getting inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame. The induction class also included Connecticut assistant coach Chris Dailey, former Colorado coach Ceal Barry, former New Jersey high school coach Rose Marie Battaglia and former WNBA players Katie Smith and Tina Thompson.