Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Friday, November 22, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883


Everything tagged

Sort by:

Stories tagged: texas motor speedway

UPDATED: Sat., Nov. 2, 2019

Kevin Harvick on pole at Texas while other Cup contenders in clump

Kevin Harvick will start from the pole at Texas Motor Speedway after a qualifying lap of 189.707 mph Saturday night.

UPDATED: Sat., Nov. 2, 2019

Joey Logano in another rift as he eyes title shot at Texas

Joey Logano has again arrived at Texas in the middle of a rift with another playoff contender after some short-track shenanigans. It all comes with the defending NASCAR Cup champion …

UPDATED: Sat., June 8, 2019

Josef Newgarden’s 1st Texas IndyCar win is series-best 3rd

Josef Newgarden has his first IndyCar victory in Texas and is the first three-time winner in the series this year. Newgarden held off Alexander Rossi over the final 10 laps …

UPDATED: Fri., March 29, 2019

Jimmie Johnson on pole on Texas after slight Cup qualifying changes

Jimmie Johnson will start on the pole at Texas, where he is a seven-time winner. With Johnson leading the way after a final-stage fast lap of 188.890 mph, Hendrick Motorsports …

Commentary: Wrong call on Jimmie Johnson on NASCAR’s bad day in Texas

NASCAR did not have its finest day at Texas Motor Speedway, where things first went awry with an erroneous penalty even before the race.

UPDATED: Sat., June 9, 2018

Scott Dixon leads last 119 laps for IndyCar win at Texas

Scott Dixon led the last 119 laps at Texas to win his second consecutive IndyCar Series race. He quickly broke a tie for the third-most career wins in the Indy-car …

UPDATED: Fri., June 8, 2018

Johnny Sauter wins at Texas, 4th NASCAR Truck victory of year

Johnny Sauter held off Stewart Friesen at Texas Motor Speedway for his fourth NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory of the season and 21st overall. Sauter matched his season high …

UPDATED: Fri., June 8, 2018

Tony Kanaan always expects close IndyCar racing at Texas

Tony Kanaan always expects close IndyCar racing at Texas, even after the changes to the track. Kanaan was the runner-up at Texas last year after the track was repaved and …

Kyle Busch wins at Texas for Joe Gibbs’ 1st victory of year

Kyle Busch’s return to Victory Lane only 10 races after his last win just seemed to take much longer. There were all those runner-up finishes in between, one in particular.

UPDATED: Sat., April 7, 2018

Ryan Blaney 3rd straight driver to win Xfinity race in No. 22

Ryan Blaney became the third different Team Penske driver in as many NASCAR Xfinity Series races to win in the No. 22 Ford. He took the checkered flag at Texas …

Sensational start for Stewart-Haas, including 1-2-3 at Texas

Stewart-Haas Racing is already off to a sensational start this season. Now the team is starting 1-2-3 in a race for the first time, with Kurt Busch on the pole …

Stewart-Haas starting top 3 in Texas after short qualifying

Stewart-Haas Racing drivers Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick and Clint Bowyer will start in the first three spots at Texas Motor Speedway after a weather-shortened qualifying session. Busch, Harvick and Bowyer …

Kevin Harvick passes Martin Truex Jr. for Texas win, both clinch title shots

The timing was perfect for Kevin Harvick’s first NASCAR Cup Series victory at Texas. So was his winning pass.

Will Power wins wild IndyCar race at Texas under caution

Will Power won a wild IndyCar race under caution at the repaved and reconfigured Texas track that finished with only eight of the 22-car field crossing the finish line. Power …

UPDATED: Fri., June 9, 2017

Christopher Bell wins at Texas under caution ahead of flipped truck

Christopher Bell won the NASCAR Truck Series race at Texas under caution, having taken the white flag side-by-side with Chase Briscoe before a wreck behind them that left a truck …

Graham Rahal rolling as he arrives at Texas off 2 IndyCar wins

Graham Rahal is the only IndyCar driver this season already with two wins. He is back at Texas to defend his win from a year ago. The win last August …

UPDATED: Fri., June 9, 2017

Charlie Kimball gets 1st IndyCar pole, record run at repaved Texas

Charlie Kimball has earned his first IndyCar Series pole with a two-lap average speed of 222.556 mph at the repaved and reconfigured Texas Motor Speedway. Kimball will start on the …

Kevin Harvick earns 1st NASCAR Cup pole on fresh Texas track

Kevin Harvick won all three rounds of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series qualifying at Texas Motor Speedway. He earned his 19th career pole with a lap of 198.405 mph during …

With Texas changes, 6-time winner not even a NASCAR favorite

Jimmie Johnson says it’s like NASCAR is coming to Texas for the first time after track changes. Johnson has led more laps at Texas than any other NASCAR Cup Series …

Texas makeover: TMS will repave track, reduce banking

Texas Motor Speedway is going to completely repave its 1 1/2-mile track and reduce the high banking in the first and second turns. The project announced Friday comes after both …

Jimmie Johnson knows how to win in Texas

Jimmie Johnson certainly knows his way to Victory Lane at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth.

Jimmie Johnson gets 5th Sprint Cup win at Texas

FORT WORTH, Texas – Jimmie Johnson was still chasing Jamie McMurray and Kevin Harvick, trying to get back in front as the laps wound down at Texas Motor Speedway. Then …

Auto Racing: Teenager Erik Jones takes Xfinity race over Sprint Cup stars

Teenager Erik Jones pulled away to his first career Xfinity Series victory Friday night, outrunning Sprint Cup stars Brad Keselowski and Dale Earnhardt Jr. at the same Texas track where …

NASCAR, Formula One have dueling races in Texas

Stock cars in Cowtown or technologically advanced open-wheel cars in trendy Austin. Beer or champagne. Deep in the heart of Texas on Sunday, NASCAR and Formula One both will have …