Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

MONDAY, JULY 20, 2009, 12:15 A.M.


 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Track qualifying records and mid-season championships were awarded at the Central Washington half-mile.

Courtesy: Kelly Hart, Yakima Speedway Media Relations

A run of hot weather racing days has taken it’s toll on available race cars but had no effect on the assault on track records at ASA Sanctioned Yakima Speedway. Two more track records were broken on Saturday night as Jake Breshears turned an 18.306 in the Bump To Pass division and Jeff Liebert continued the weekly trend in the H&H Pure Stocks with a 24.301 run.

The biggest car count of the year for the Morty’s Towing Bump to Pass division saw Breshears set the track record in qualifying. Then the Trophy Dashes were run with Julie McAlpin and Joe Stevens winning the four-lap races. Breshears won the lone Heat Race. In the 20-lap main event, there were 5 lead changes between 4 different drivers. First Bobby A. Trujillo led the opening nine laps, before Breshears banged past for the lead on the tenth lap. There were cars scattered all over the place when McAlpin took over the top spot and looked to be sailing off for a clear victory. But Trujillo ran her down, spun her to lead the 19th lap and took over the lead fighting tooth and nail into the final turns. McAlpin and Trujillo battled hard taking each other out exiting the final corner and Breshears snuck by underneath to win the drag race to the line. Yakima Speedway would like to acknowledge the contributions of all racers from the Dirt Track Bump to Pass division that came over and ran with us tonight.

The track record holder in the CWI Security / EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet division is Greg Gargett and he held serve with a clean sweep of the night. Setting fast time, and winning his Trophy Dash, Heat Race and the Main Event. Other class winners were Keith Erickson winning the B Trophy Dash and Jessica Tidrick in the B Heat Race. 12 cars started the main event.

Jeff Liebert and Jay Younker have waged quite the war this year in the H&H Furniture Pure Stock division, swapping the track record back and forth in qualifying. And Younker received his 3 in-a-row Bonus Money during opening ceremonies for his win last weekend. As the night set out, Terry Cook found winners circle in a hard fought Trophy Dash. Younker won the Heat Race. Then during the main event, Cook and Younker swapped the lead a few times early on, before Liebert passed them both on the 9th lap and headed out for the win. Liebert cruised to victory over Younker, Cook, Ron Pepper and Rob Allen.

In the RJ’s Tire Factory Super Street division a few cars are sidelined with blown motors and waiting for them to come back from the builders, while others were off with family duties. Still 6 cars answered the bell for the main event. Chet Beaman, Sr. held off a charging Mike VanAmburg in the closing laps for the win. VanAmburg set fast time with a 21.693 run. Chet Beaman, Jr. made his first appearance of the year. In pre-race activities Andy Beaman appeared to hurt a motor and was parked for the evening. Brian “Montana” Tischler towed from West Richland to make an appearance and had clutch problems for most of the night. Zach Beaman was fighting illness and Dusty John a bad back, but they had a spirited battle for 3rd place for most of the race.

Next week the Star Rentals presents the Late Models, Burger Ranch Sportsman, CWI Security / EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornets, Yakima Driving School Youth Hornets and the Bump to Pass cars on Saturday night July 25th for another night of hot summer evening racing action.


RESULTS 7/18/09



FAST TIME: 22 Greg Gargett 17.392

B DASH: 12 Keith Erickson, 24 Eric Coble, 91 Julie Melville, 41 Tyler Breshears

A DASH: 22 Gargett, 51 Josh Parmentier, 4 Ryan Kallenberger, 18 Tim Breshears

B HEAT: 26 Jessica Tidrick, 12 Erickson, 76 Michael Beck, 24 Coble, 41 Tyler Breshears

A HEAT: 22 Gargett, 51 Parmentier, 4 Kallenberger, 20 Chris Morrison, 18 Tim Breshears

MAIN: 22 Greg Gargett, 4 Kallenberger, 34 Chris Marang, 26 Tidrick, 12 Erickson, 18 Tim Breshears, 20 Morrison, 24 Coble, 41 Tyler Breshears, 91 Melville, 76 Beck, 51 Parmentier

LAP LEADERS: 24 Coble 1-5, 22 Gargett 6-20



FAST TIME: 77 Jake Breshears 18.306 new track record

B DASH: 4 Julie McAlpin, 37 Merle Stiltner, 52 Dusty Belair, 71 Eddie Abrams

A DASH: 43 Joe Stevens, 77 Breshears, 22 Peppie Rojas, 31 Brian Toepelt

HEAT: 77 Breshears, 43 Stevens, 4 McAlpin, 31 Toepelt, 53 Mark Belair

MAIN: 77 Jake Breshears, 4 McAlpin, 88 Bobby A. Trujillo, 37 Stiltner, 53 M. Belair, 52 D. Belair, 31 Toepelt, 22 Rojas, 71 Abrams, 43 Stevens

LAP LEADERS: 88 Trujillo 1-9, 77 Breshears 10-12, 4 McAlpin 13-18, 88 Trujillo 19, 77 Breshears 20



FAST TIME: 5 Jeff Liebert 24.301 new track record

DASH: 31 Terry Cook, 27 Jay Younker, 09 Ron Pepper, 5 Liebert, 87 Rob Allen

HEAT: 27 Younker, 5 Liebert, 31 Cook, 09 Pepper, 87 Allen

MAIN: 5 Jeff Liebert, 27 Younker, 31 Cook, 09 Pepper, 87 Allen

LAP LEADERS: 31 Cook 1, 27 Younker 2, 31 Cook 3-8, 5 Liebert 9-20



FAST TIME:  97 Mike VanAmburg 21.693

HEAT: 25 Chet Beaman, Sr., 98 Zack Beaman, 97 VanAmburg, 16 Chet Beaman, Jr., 38 Dusty John

MAIN: 25 Chet Beaman, Sr., 97 VanAmburg, 98 Z. Beaman, 38 John, 60 Brian Tischler, 16 Chet Beaman, Jr.

LAP LEADERS: 98 Z. Beaman 1-4, 25 Chet Beaman, Sr. 5-30

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.