Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Thursday, August 6, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Day 76° Partly Cloudy
News >  Spokane

34 More Counties Now Eligible For Aid

From Staff And Wire Reports

Thirty-four more Washington counties have been declared eligible for federal disaster aid because of the storms and flooding that began Dec. 26, the Federal Emergency Management Agency said Tuesday.

The counties qualify for public assistance and hazard mitigation aid, in which federal money is available to remove debris and repair storm-damaged public facilities, such as roads and bridges.

Twelve of the counties also are eligible for individual assistance, which means residents and business owners can apply for grants or low-interest loans to fix damage.

Counties declared eligible for both types of aid are: Clallam, Grays Harbor, Island, Kitsap, Kittitas, Mason, Pierce, Skagit, Skamania, Spokane, Thurston and Yakima.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

The journalists of The Spokesman-Review are a part of the community. They live here. They work here. They care. You can help keep local journalism strong right now with your contribution. Thank you.

Subscribe to the Coronavirus newsletter

Get the day’s latest Coronavirus news delivered to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter.

Swedish Thoracic Surgery: Partners in patient care

 (Courtesy Bergman Draper Oslund Udo)

Matt Bergman knows the pain and anger that patients with mesothelioma feel.