Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Friday, November 15, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 35° Partly Cloudy

Sunday locals

From staff and news services

State 2B/1B boys champion St. George’s and State 4A girls fourth-place Gonzaga Prep led the showing by area schools on the Washington State Soccer Coaches Association 2015 Fall All-State soccer teams.

St. George’s had six on the 2B/1B boys team, including co-Most Valuable Player Collin Cremers, a senior defender who also secured a first-team all-state slot, and 2B/1B Coach of the Year Heidi Melville, duplicating an honor she received in the Northeast 2B league.

They were joined by sophomore goalkeeper Noah Halliburton-Link, forward Michael Hamilton and defender Matt Arlt, both seniors, on the first team, and senior midfielder Stow Miller on the second.

In the girls ranks, G-Prep placed four on the State 4A team – Darby Doyle, a junior midfielder and the Greater Spokane League offensive MVP, and senior midfielder Larkin Russell were on the second team. Seniors Tayler Drynan, a forward, and Melissa Symmes, a defender, earned honorable mention.

Ryann Rydeen, the University senior goalkeeper and GSL defensive MVP, was a first-team selection and Ferris junior midfielder Alexis Murphy was honorable mention.

Ashley Sanders, a senior midfielder at Mt. Spokane, was a 3A honorable mention.

Hannah Burland of East Valley, a senior defender who was the Great Northern League defensive MVP, was a first-team 2A selection.

The 1A team included two from Deer Park, junior forward Riley Martinson, the Northeast A offensive MVP, on the second team, with freshman defender Lily Pierce receiving honorable mention. Freeman junior goalkeeper Cassidy Crosswhite, the NEA defensive MVP, also was honorable mention.


Six members of the Spokane Area Volleyball Referees Association received postseason college assignments, three working the NCAA Division I tournament.

Margie Ray worked through the Sweet 16 round as a referee, Juli Jones worked the first and second rounds as a line judge, and Ben Goodwin was a line judge in the first round.

Ray also worked the Big Sky Conference tournament as a referee and Goodwin was a line judge in the Conference USA tourney.

Two members worked the NAIA Frontier Conference tournament, Linda Kildew as a referee and Patty Kells as a line judge, and Rusty Wellman worked the NWAC tourney as a referee.

Kildew, a longtime referee and scorer, was named 2015 Official of the Year in voting by the nearly 80 members of the Spokane Area Volleyball Referees Association.

Devin Darrough was named most improved, top second-year official and high school line judge of the year; Kells was named the year’s top partner; Bob Francis and Barb Twohig were chosen contributors of the year; Rick Wright the top rookie; and Debbie Spray top third-year official.

SAVRA also elected its 2016 board and advisers. Goodwin is president, Barb Silvey vice president, Keith Ward past president, Mary Ann Ehrgott secretary, with Jones, Trent York, Spray and Chad Coupland directors at large. Phil Robinson is treasurer.

Assigners are Bob Francis and Alan Hirayama, who is also a trainer along with Twohig, Dale Goodwin and Kildew.

Wordcount: 490

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email