Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Monday, September 16, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 59° Cloudy

Election Center

Chuck Carrell

A candidate for State Representative Pos. 1, Legislative District 40 in the 2010 Washington Primary Election

Party: Republican

On this race:

Elected Experience: 1998 Precinct Committee Officer, 2005-2008 SCCGuild- Union President

Other Professional Experience: 1987-1991 U.S. Marine Corps, 1991-Present Deputy-Snohomish County Sheriffs Office.

Education: Business studies-Central Texas College, Everett Community College, Sheriffs Office Field Training Officer and Defensive Tactics Instructor

Community Service: Except for my time serving in the Marine Corps,I have lived in Washington State for the last 35 years and have always been active in my community and my childrens schools. I am Past Committee Chair for Boy Scouts of America Whatcom County chapter. For years I helped instruct Tae Kwon Do and self-defense classes for children and adults.

Statement: I believe we can provide our essential governmental functions more efficiently than we currently are by eliminating redundancy in government. As your state representative, I will devote my time and energy to reviewing our governmental processes and systems to determine where we can consolidate programs and spend less. I will focus on the development of more efficient government without raising taxes. My goal is to ease the tax burden of private citizens and businesses in order to strengthen our economy.   

To learn specifics on where I stand on issues, please visit my website (

Election results

Candidate Votes Pct
Kristine Lytton (D) 8,896 26.31 %
Mike Newman (R) 5,876 17.38 %
Tom Pasma (D) 5,308 15.70 %
Dusty Gulleson (R) 5,295 15.66 %
Thomas Boucher (D) 2,698 7.98 %
Donna R. Miller (R) 2,579 7.63 %
Chuck Carrell (R) 1,487 4.40 %
Justin Van Dyk (D) 1,027 3.04 %
Doug (Yoshe) Revelle (H) 647 1.91 %

Details >>


Kristine Lytton


Mike Newman


Tom Pasma


Dusty Gulleson


Thomas Boucher


Donna R. Miller


Justin Van Dyk