Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Forestry contest winners named

The Spokesman-Review

Winners of the Idaho State Forestry Contest have been announced.

Students and their schools are listed by category.

Senior Division-Individual

Top individual, David Ritz Memorial Plaque: Cameron Neely, Coeur d’Alene High School.

Second place: Dan Nielson, Post Falls High School Team 1.

Third place: Ben Nielson, PFHS Team 1.

Senior Division-Team

First place: Coeur d’Alene Team 1 (Cameron Neely, Brian Church, Cassie Johnson and Amber Guy).

Second place: Post Falls Team 1 (Dan Nielson, Ben Nielson, Cody Stockman and Caralea Nelson).

Third place: Coeur d’Alene Team 2 (Tiffany Kimball, Sammy Randal, Ashley Batchelder and Mike Beatty).

Junior Division-Individual

First place: Casey Thomas, Post Falls Middle School, Team 2

Second place: Nora Nielson, Post Falls Middle, Team 1.

Third place: Joshua Erickson, PFMS Team 1.

Junior Division-Team

First place: Post Falls Middle, Team 1 (Joshua Erickson, Nora Nielson and Crystal Kerr, Kimber Boyles).

Second place: Post Falls Middle, Team 2 (Arthur Francis, Casey Thomas, John Erickson and Eric Lundholm).

Third place: Post Falls Middle, Team 3 (Andrew Craghead, Dendra Mudge, Shannon Nunez and Hollie Sakellariou).

Tim Prather, Moscow, has been selected to participate in the statewide spring program of the Leadership Idaho Agriculture Foundation.

Prather will attend four months of class sessions that are designed to enhance personal development, leadership and agriculture awareness.

“ Local students recently received recognition at the Idaho State Daughters of the American Revolution conference held in Coeur d’Alene.

Honorees are listed.

David Lee of Moscow received the Good Citizen Award. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Hong Lee of Moscow.

Bryan Cossairt and Alexander Henkoski won awards for writing patriotic essays. Cossairt is the son of Wally and Sherrie Cossairt of Bonners Ferry. Henkoski is the son of Michael and Pamela Henkoski of Coeur d’Alene.

Gail Chumbley received the Outstanding Teacher of American History Award and is also a National DAR winner. She is a teacher in Eagle and is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Olson of Spokane.

“Three area high school seniors were awarded Steve Omi Memorial Scholarships from the Lake City Master Swimmers.

Sarah Finley of Post Falls High School received a $750 scholarship and will attend the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, in the fall.

Christine Mabile of Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy and Sarah Shields of North Idaho Christian School each received $375 awards. In the fall Mabile will attend Albertson College in Caldwell, and Shields will attend the University of Nevada, Reno.

“ Kellogg High School seniors Seth Patton and Cami Wendt were selected to receive the Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award.