Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Saturday, June 6, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Cloudy 67° Cloudy

Two Cougars receive scholastic honor

Washington State’s Vaughn Lesuma and Matt Mullennix were named to the 2009 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced.

It honors college football players from all divisions who maintain a 3.2 grade-point average or better and were significant contributors in their final year of eligibility.

Lesuma, an offensive lineman, started 11 of WSU’s 13 games in 2008. Mullennix, a defensive lineman granted a sixth year of eligibility by the NCAA, started all 13 games.


Aynslee Stuart, a defensive-minded 5-foot-6 guard from Post Falls, has signed to play at Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Mont., Battlin’ Bears women’s coach Brian Henderson announced.

Stuart averaged eight points, four rebounds and two steals a game for Post Falls last season as a senior. She also competes in volleyball and track and field.

College scene

Kevin Tucker, a junior on the Washington State men’s golf team, has been named All-Pac-10 Conference honorable mention.

Tucker had three top-10 finishes, including his first career victory (at the Desert Intercollegiate in Palm Desert, Calif., Oct 5, 2008) and six top-25s during the fall and spring seasons.

Mickenzie Alden, a 2007 graduate of Central Valley, has received the Arthur Sudfield Academic Award from Rutgers University, where she is a sophomore softball player.

The award honors a student-athlete for academic achievement.

•Sophomore point guard Courtney Vandersloot was named the most valuable player on the Gonzaga women’s basketball team, Bulldogs coach Kelly Graves announced at the team’s banquet last weekend.

Junior Heather Bowman received the Fred Obde Hustle Award, senior Amanda Brown the Katy Prichard Most Inspirational Player award and sophomore Claire Raap and freshman Kelly Bowen were named most improved players.

Bowen was also named the best rebounder and sophomore Janelle Bekkering received the best defender award. Brown and senior Jami Schaefer were team captains.

•Sophomores Nichole Miller of Curlew and Andrew Packwood of Lewiston were among Lewis-Clark State College athletes named to Academic All-Frontier Conference teams in basketball.

To be eligible, a player must be at least a sophomore with a 3.0 grade-point average or better.


Seven players from Spokane and the Spokane Jr. Chiefs with 1994 or 1995 birth years are candidates for USA Hockey’s national select camps in July and August after competing in the Pacific District select camp last weekend in Kent, Wash.

Defensemen Zach Frye, Tim Schmidt and Kyle Davis, and forwards Thomas McNevin and Nick Farmer competed with the ’94 group in Kent.

Goalie Kane Ulrich and defenseman Taylor Everhart were in the ’95 group.

The players first attended a Washington state evaluation camp, from which two goalies, 12 forwards and six defensemen were selected for the Pacific District camp. There were 80 players in each birth-year group in Kent. From them, two goalies, nine forwards and six defensemen from each group will be selected for the national evaluation camps.

Compiled from staff, wire and news service reports.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

Asking the right questions of your CBD company

Bluegrass Hemp Oil in Spokane Valley offers a variety of products that can be very effective for helping with some health conditions. (Courtesy BHO)

If you are like most CBD (cannabidiol) curious consumers, you’ve heard CBD can help with many ailments.