Washington’s new Discover Pass, required on vehicles accessing most state lands, might impact some sportsmen even though they get a parking permit when they buy their hunting and fishing licenses.
The Discover Pass, created by the 2011 Washington Legislature, is generally required for vehicle access to state lands, including state parks, campgrounds, boat launches, trailheads and wildlife areas.
An annual pass costs $35 (or $30 if purchased at a state park). One-day passes are $11.50 online, by phone or from retail hunting license vendors.
However, some exceptions apply.
Sportsmen who buy annual fishing and hunting licenses automatically get a Vehicle Access Pass that allows a rig to be parked on land and water sites managed by the state Fish and Wildlife Department.
This pass will suffice for hunters in most cases.
However, hunters who use state park facilities or developed sites managed by the Department of Natural Resources will need the Discover Pass.
Originally, state officials said the Discover Pass would be required for access to all DNR lands. But that has been modified recently to include only “developed” DNR sites and recreation areas, such as around Chopaka Lake in Okanogan County, Williams Lake Campground in Stevens County and Skookum Creek Campground in Pend Oreille County.
The Discover Pass cannot be transferred to more than one vehicle.
Details are online: wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/discoverpass
Local journalism is essential.
Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.
Subscribe to the sports newsletter
Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.