Arrow-right Camera

Eye On Boise

Election results wrapup…

This morning, 99 percent of the vote has been counted – 937 of 942 precincts. What’s missing: Blaine County, where a tabulator malfunction disrupted vote-counting, which will be completed by about noon today in Twin Falls, according to the Idaho Secretary of State’s Office.

Here’s a link to the results as they stand now. Top-of-ticket results haven’t changed; Gov. Butch Otter is still defeating challenger Russ Fulcher, and the tea party challengers to all top state GOP officials have fallen short, with Todd Hatfield’s challenge of state Controller Brandon Woolf coming closest, at 50.9 percent to 49.1 percent. Sherri Ybarra is winning the GOP race for state superintendent of schools, to face Jana Jones in November; and Lawrence Denney is leading the four-way GOP race for Idaho Secretary of State, to face Democrat Holli Woodings in November.

In judicial races, Supreme Court Justice Joel Horton easily turned back a challenge from Breck Seiniger; Rebecca Arnold and Sam Hoaglund were the top vote-getters in the four-way race to succeed District 4 Judge Mike Wetherell and will go to a runoff in November; 4th District Judge Richard Greenwood turned back a challenge from Les Bock; Bruce Pickett won a three-way race for a 7th District judgeship to succeed Jon Shindurling; and 2nd District Judge Jeff Brudie defeated challenger John Bradbury.

In legislative races, ultra-conservatives rolled in Kootenai County, with Rep. Ed Morse, R-Hayden, losing big to challenger Eric Redman; Sen. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene easily dispatching challenger Patrick Whalen; and Rep. Ron Mendive, R-Coeur d’Alene, doing the same for challenger Terry Warner. Retired Los Angeles police officer Don Cheatham defeated two other candidates in the GOP primary for retiring Rep. Frank Henderson’s seat; Henderson had endorsed Greg Gfeller. And seventh-term Sen. John Goedde, R-Coeur d’Alene, chairman of the Senate Education Committee, lost in the primary to conservative activist Mary Souza. No Democrat filed for the seat, so Souza will face Constitution Party candidate Ray Writz in November.

Kootenai County saw a low voter turnout of just 21.72 percent of registered voters; statewide voter turnout figures aren’t out yet.

Other legislative incumbents around the state who fell in the primary included seventh-term Rep. George Eskridge, R-Dover, who lost to GOP challenger Sage Dixon; Rep. Lenore Barrett, R-Challis, losing to Merrill Beyeler; Sen. Monty Pearce, R-New Plymouth, falling to challenger Abby Lee; and freshman Rep. Doug Hancey, R-Rexburg, losing to Ron Nate.

In Democratic races, John McCrostie defeated Jimmy Farris in District 16, Melissa Wintrow edged Troy Rohn in District 19, and Rep. John Gannon, D-Boise, easily defeated challenger Carrie Semmelroth.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Eye On Boise
Betsy Z. Russell
Betsy Z. Russell joined The Spokesman-Review in 1991. She currently is a reporter in the Boise Bureau covering Idaho state government and politics, and other news from Idaho's state capital.

Follow Betsy online: