Arrow-right Camera

Wildcats dominate awards

HELENA – Regular-season champion Weber State claimed three of the four individual awards and placed two players on the first team as the All-Big Sky men’s basketball team was announced Thursday.

Weber State senior Kellen McCoy was named Most Valuable Player and teammate Damian Lillard was named freshman of the year. Wildcats senior Daviin Davis was named defensive player of the year.

Montana’s Anthony Johnson, a junior college transfer and the conference’s leading scorer, was named newcomer of the year and also made the first team.

Eastern Washington was represented by junior guard Benny Valentine, who was named to the second team. Valentine ranked third in the conference in scoring (15.2 ppg), fourth in steals and fifth in assists.

The individual awards and all-conference team were selected by the nine coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.