Arrow-right Camera
News >  Business

Business Beat

New faces

Devin Taylor has been hired as senior art director for 14Four. He is co-founder of Salty Design Foundry design studio in Coeur d’Alene and has extensive creative design experience. He holds a bachelor of fine arts degree from Washington State University.

The Institute for Systems Medicine has hired Amy Johnson as director of strategic partnerships. She previously served as vice president for public policy and workforce development for Greater Spokane Incorporated. She holds bachelor’s degrees in philosophy from the University of Colorado and in government and history from California State University Sacramento; a graduate degree in health policy and administration from Washington State University Spokane; and a law degree from Gonzaga University School of Law.

Steve Storey has been hired by Sterling Savings Bank as a senior vice president and private banking regional director for the company’s Spokane Private Banking office. He has more than 20 years of financial services industry experience and previously served as senior vice president and Wealth Management Group regional manager for Spokane and Coeur d’Alene region for Wells Fargo Bank. He holds Accredited Asset Management Specialist certification from the College for Financial Planning and is a graduate of Eastern Washington University and the Pacific Coast Banking School.

Dunn and Black, P.S. has hired Jennifer Sachs as an associate with a focus on employment and construction law, business disputes and litigation. She holds a bachelor of science degree from Tufts University and is a graduate of Gonzaga University School of Law.


Amber Grier and Dana Hodge have been promoted to staff seniors for McDirmid Mikkelsen and Secrest, P.S.

Payne Financial Group promoted Judy Kaiser-Smith to surety administrator.


The following individuals and businesses were acknowledged by the Spokane Pharmacy Association during its Annual Recognition Awards: Pharmacist of the Year, Clay Littell of Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center; Pharmacy Technician of the Year, Dori Brunette of Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center; Manufacturer Representative of the Year, Brigham Rindlisbacher of Pfizer Pharmaceuticals; Pharmacy Students and Residents of the Year, Andrew Harbison, Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center pharmacy resident and Lindy Wood, research fellow at WSU College of Pharmacy and Elder Services of Spokane; Outstanding Speaker of the Year, Colleen Terriff, WSU College of Pharmacy faculty and Deaconess Medical Center; Pharmacy of the Year in the Health Systems Category, Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center and Children’s Hospital Pharmacy Department; and Pharmacy of the Year in the Community Category, CHAS Clinics Pharmacy Department.

Mary Lemon received an Award of Excellence from Safeco Insurance Company for excellence in underwriting. Lemon is a chief operating officer for Fidelity Associates in Spokane.

Sonic, America’s Drive-In presented Daniel DeHaro with a 2010 Operational Excellence Award. DeHaro is operator of the Spokane Sonic Drive-In.

Linda Garrelts MacLean received the Distinguished Leadership Service Award from the Washington State Pharmacy Association. The organization also presented Travis Sonnett with its Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award. Garrelts MacLean is chair of the Pharmacotherapy Department at Washington State University. Sonnett is a clinical assistant professor of pharmacotherapy at WSU.

Have an item for Business Beat? Send it to businessbeat@