Arrow-right Camera

Jack Blair Memorial attracts big talent

The 21st annual Jack Blair Memorial girls all-star basketball game will offer a little bit of everything.

Members of three state championship teams, four state players of the year and three head coaches of the state championship teams.

The Metro vs. Region game is on June 3 at University High. Tipoff is at 7:30 p.m.

As usual, the Greater Spokane League’s first and second teams make up the Metro team while the other best players in Eastern Washington and North Idaho will don Region uniforms.

Washington State 4A champion Gonzaga Prep is represented by Hannah Caudill, Laura Stockton, Otiona Gildon and Oona Harrington on the Metro team along with Bullpups coach Mike Arte.

Idaho 5A state champion Coeur d’Alene is represented by five seniors, all starters during the season, on the Region team. They are: Sydney Williams, Brittany Tackett, Madison Sumner, Sara Chalich and Sydni Parker.

Their coach, Dale Poffenroth, will team with Clark Vining, whose Colton Wildcats captured a sixth straight Washington State 1B title. Jenna Moser, who led Colton to the title, is also on the team.

Caudill, who has signed with Montana State University, was the Washington State Girls Basketball Coaches Association 4A player of the year. Williams, who is headed to San Diego, was the 5A All-Idaho player of the year. Moser was the WSGBCA and Associated Press 1B player of the year.

Chandler Smith of Brewster, who has signed with Nebraska, was the WSGBCA and AP 1A player of the year. She’s on the Region roster. Smith was the 2013 Jack Blair most valuable player as she led the Region to its second win in the series.

Blair game director Ron Adams gives the Metro team a big advantage.

“This is the most highly skilled offensive team the Metro has ever had,” Adams said. “Those kids can flat shoot the basketball.”

Other players picked to the Metro team are: Shyla Carr (Shadle Park), Ashlyn Lewey (Mead), McKenzie Peterson (U-Hi), Delany Junkermier (Mead), Madison Hovren (Central Valley), Brittany Johnson (Ferris), Mariah Cunningham (CV), Sue Winger (Mead) and Riley Lupfer (Lewis and Clark).

Other Region players are: Jesse Loera (Moses Lake), Alex Rankin (East Valley), Natalie Noble (West Valley), Emily Drake (Pullman) and Erin Higbie (WV).