Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Spin Control

Waldref cruises to Bloomsday win

Congratulations to Councilwoman Amber Waldref, this year's top Bloomsday finisher among elected leaders (at least among those whose time we checked).

She easily beat out the rest of her City Council cohorts, though in defense of the others, she is the youngest elected official we located who ran the race.

Spin Control also offers the following trophy-less awards:

Participation Award: The Spokane County Commission. All three members finished the race. They are a shining example to the legislators serving the Third Legislative District. None of them completed the race even though the race is in their district.

Doomsday Hill Award: Jon Snyder, barely beat out Michael Baumgartner for the fastest time up Pettet Drive.

Here are the finishers we found. They are a bit slower than last year when former county commissioner and mountain climber John Roskelley ran the race.

In parenthesis are the official's age, followed by his or her final time, per-mile pace and his or her time on Doomsday Hill.

1. Spokane City Councilwoman Amber Waldref (36), 1:07:39, 9:04, 4:50

2. Spokane City Councilman Jon Snyder (44), 1:11:34, 9:35, 4:42

3. Spokane County Treasurer Rob Chase (59), 1:11:57, 9:38, 5:10

4. State Sen. Michael Baumgartner (37), 1:17:33, 10:23, 4:47

5. County Commissioner Todd Mielke (48), 1:17:48, 10:25, 5:53

6. Spokane City Councilman Steve Salvatori (58), 1:21:27, 10:55, 5:34

7. Spokane School Board member Deana Brower (43), 1:25:13, 11:25, 6:01

8. Spokane Municipal Court Judge Mary Logan (51), 1:25:33, 11:28, 5:29

9. Spokane Valley Mayor Tom Towey (69), 1:29:30, 11:59, 5:52

10. County Commissioner Al French (52), 1:40:41, 13:29, 6:39

11. County Commissioner Shelly O’Quinn (38) 1:41:41, 13:37, 6:53

12. Spokane City Councilwoman Nancy McLaughlin (54), 1:47:31, 14:24, 6:42

13. Spokane County Superior Court Judge Harold Clarke (58), 1:53:06, 15:09, 6:44

14. Spokane Mayor David Condon (39): 2:48:38, 22:36, not available

15. City Council candidate and former state Rep. John Ahern (78), 3:11:02, 25:36, 11:15

This list was corrected on May 8, 2013 to remove state Rep. Kevin Parker from the list. A Kevin Parker from Spokane did finish the race, but not the one who is in the state House. A reporter's error is to blame. Parker, the legislator, cheered on participatants near the top of Doomsday Hill, but he did not run or walk the course.

Note -- This is not a comprehensive list of all elected leaders in Spokane County. We did not check for cemetery commissioners, or instance. But we did check the Bloomsday database for the following: all Spokane and Spokane Valley council members, all elected Spokane County offices, all mayors in Spokane County, all declared candidates for Spokane City Council, U.S. Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, all Spokane County superior and district court judges, all Spokane Municipal Court judges, all Spokane School Board members and all state legislators from the 3rd, 4th and 6th legislative districts.

Jonathan Brunt
Jonathan Brunt joined The Spokesman-Review in 2004. He is the government editor. He previously was a reporter who covered Spokane City Hall, Spokane County government and public safety.

Follow Jonathan online: