Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Day 37° Partly Cloudy
News >  Features

Oscar Nominations

The Associated Press

List of nominations for the Academy Awards:

1. Best Picture: “The English Patient,” “Fargo,” “Jerry Maguire,” “Secrets & Lies,” “Shine.”

2. Actor: Tom Cruise, “Jerry Maguire”; Ralph Fiennes, “The English Patient”; Woody Harrelson, “The People vs. Larry Flynt”; Geoffrey Rush, “Shine”; Billy Bob Thornton, “Sling Blade.”

3. Actress: Brenda Blethyn, “Secrets & Lies”; Diane Keaton, “Marvin’s Room”; Frances McDormand, “Fargo”; Kristin Scott Thomas, “The English Patient”; Emily Watson, “Breaking the Waves.”

4. Supporting Actor: Cuba Gooding Jr., “Jerry Maguire”; William H. Macy, “Fargo”; Armin Mueller-Stahl, “Shine”; Edward Norton, “Primal Fear”; James Woods, “Ghosts of Mississippi.”

5. Supporting Actress: Joan Allen, “The Crucible”; Lauren Bacall, “The Mirror Has Two Faces”; Juliette Binoche, “The English Patient”; Barbara Hershey, “The Portrait of a Lady”; Marianne Jean-Baptiste, “Secrets & Lies.”

6. Director: Anthony Minghella, “The English Patient”; Joel Coen, “Fargo”; Milos Forman, “The People vs. Larry Flynt”; Mike Leigh, “Secrets & Lies”; Scott Hicks, “Shine.”

7. Foreign Film: “A Chef in Love,” Georgia; “Kolya,” Czech Republic; “The Other Side of Sunday,” Norway; “Prisoner of the Mountains,” Russia; “Ridicule,” France.

8. Screenplay (written directly for the screen): Ethan Coen & Joel Coen, “Fargo”; Cameron Crowe, “Jerry Maguire”; John Sayles, “Lone Star”; Mike Leigh, “Secrets & Lies”; Jan Sardi and Scott Hicks, “Shine.”

9. Screenplay (based on material previously produced or published): Arthur Miller, “The Crucible”; Anthony Minghella, “The English Patient”; Kenneth Branagh, “Hamlet”; Billy Bob Thornton, “Sling Blade”; John Hodge, “Trainspotting.”

10. Art Direction: “The Birdcage,” “The English Patient,” “Evita,” “Hamlet,” “William Shakespeare’s Romeo & Juliet.”

11. Cinematography: “The English Patient,” “Evita,” “Fargo,” “Fly Away Home,” “Michael Collins.”

12. Sound: “The English Patient,” “Evita,” “Independence Day,” “The Rock,” “Twister.”

13. Sound Effects Editing: “Daylight,” “Eraser,” “The Ghost and the Darkness.”

14. Original Musical or Comedy Score: “Emma,” Rachel Portman; “The First Wives Club,” Marc Shaiman; “The Hunchback of Notre Dame,” Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz; “James and the Giant Peach,” Randy Newman; “The Preacher’s Wife,” Hans Zimmer.

15. Original Dramatic Score: “The English Patient,” Gabriel Yared; “Hamlet,” Patrick Doyle; “Michael Collins,” Elliot Goldenthal; “Shine,” David Hirschfelder; “Sleepers,” John Williams.

16. Original Song: “Because You Loved Me” from “Up Close and Personal,” Diane Warren; “For the First Time” from “One Fine Day,” James Newton Howard, Jud J. Friedman and Allan Dennis Rich; “I Finally Found Someone” from “The Mirror Has Two Faces,” Barbra Streisand, Marvin Hamlisch, Bryan Adams and Robert “Mutt” Lange; “That Thing You Do!” from “That Thing You Do!,” Adam Schlesinger; “You Must Love Me” from “Evita,” Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice.

17. Costume: “Angels and Insects,” “Emma,” “The English Patient,” “Hamlet,” “The Portrait of a Lady.”

18. Documentary Feature: “The Line King: The Al Hirschfeld Story,” “Mandela,” “Suzanne Farrell: Elusive Muse,” “Tell The Truth and Run: George Seldes and the American Press,” “When We Were Kings.”

19. Documentary (short subject): “Breathing Lessons: The Life and Work of Mark O’Brien,” “Cosmic Voyage,” “An Essay on Matisse,” “Special Effects,” “The Wild Bunch: An Album in Montage.”

20. Film Editing: “The English Patient,” “Evita,” “Fargo,” “Jerry Maguire,” “Shine.”

21. Makeup: “Ghosts of Mississippi,” “The Nutty Professor,” “Star Trek: First Contact.”

22. Animated Short Films: “Canhead,” “La Salla,” “Quest,” “Wat’s Pig.”

23. Live Action Short Film: “De Tripas, Corazon,” “Dear Diary,” “Ernst & Lyset,” “Esposados,” “Wordless.”

24. Visual Effects: “Dragonheart,” “Independence Day,” “Twister.”

Oscar winners previously announced this year:

Scientific and Technical Oscar: Imax Corp. for its large-format movies.

Honorary Award: Choreographer Michael Kidd.

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award: Producer Saul Zaentz.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Subscribe to the Coronavirus newsletter

Get the day’s latest Coronavirus news delivered to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter.

Annual health and dental insurance enrollment period open now

 (Courtesy Washington Healthplanfinder)

2020 has been a stressful year for myriad reasons.