Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Doug Pace: Packed docket for Stateline’s final Saturday night races of season

By Doug Pace Correspondent

Stateline Speedway’s final Saturday night race of the season features the Late Models, Legends, Hobby Stocks and Bandoleros on the tight quarter-mile Post Falls oval.

David Garber leads rookie Tyler Brown by 16 points in the chase for the Late Model championship. Garber started the season with several strong performances, but lately, Shelby Thompson has been the man on a mission.

The Mead native has scored three main-event victories in his last four starts. The impressive run has put Thompson in the seventh position in the chase for the championship despite being one race short on the field.

With a 65-point gap between Thompson and the points leader, it will take a near-perfect night for the new father, but with his performances in the four-race run anything is possible. A realistic opportunity exists for Thompson to move into fifth place in the final standings as he sits 19 points behind Chris Crane for that position.

Brown has quietly put together an impressive rookie season with several top-five runs. The teen makes the drive from the Tri-Cities each race to match wits with the likes of Garber, reigning two-time champion Justin Popple, Thompson and a host of stellar competitors with a main event victory possible this weekend.

Aaron Nevers continues to show his dominance in the Hobby Stock division, but Aaron Clanton has made the most of his recent top-five finishes to overtake Mike Loudin for the second position in the points standings. Clanton’s six-point advantage over Loudin will be put to the test throughout Saturday’s action while the duo will also have to contend with the hard-charging Mike Burghard, who is two points off of Loudin’s position.

Haedon Plybon has a solid lead in his quest for the Legends championship, while Bailey Babin appears well on her way to securing her second Bandolero title.

For more information on this weekend’s racing at Stateline Speedway:

Sprint boats in action

Webb’s Slough cranks up this weekend for the second stop of the year featuring the stars of the American Sprint Boat Racing tour. Celebrating 10 years of operation, the St. John, Washington, venue is one of the top courses on the circuit and a favorite among fans and racers.

Boat teams consist of a driver and navigator with the goal of getting the 1,000-horsepower machines around the race course in the quickest time possible. Each team makes a single-boat run, with the top times set in a final round to determine a winner.

Three divisions will be competing this weekend – Modified, 400 and Unlimited. With one race left on the ASBR schedule after St. John, this weekend’s racing will be important in determining champions in the classes.

The 400 division features the closest championship battle as driver Doug Hendrickson and his navigator, Nichole Heaton-Muller, hold a six-point advantage over Brian Swindahl and his navigator, Aubrey Swindahl. Also in the hunt is Brian’s brother, Darrin, and navigator Ashley Swindahl, who are 12 points behind Hendrickson but six points out of second place in the standings.

Action starts Friday evening with a technical inspection of competitor boats that takes place along the main street of St. John. For ticket and other information regarding Saturday’s racing:

Republic track welcomes families

Republic’s Eagle Track Raceway hosts its annual Family Fun Day event on Saturday afternoon featuring the Modifieds, Super Stocks and Fever 4’s.

The Fever 4 class offers the track’s tightest points chase as leader Bob Bradshaw sits seven points ahead of LD Fletcher with three races remaining. Third-place Joe Stotts is locked in a battle with Trent Twamley for third place and Steve Hood rounds out the top five.

Andy Miller has been Eagle’s top driver in the Modified division this season as his performances have moved him atop the championship standings by 153 points over Andy Gasho.

Mike Olmstead leads the Super Stock championship standings over Julian Braun with T.J. Larsen, Jason Stone and Monty Betcher rounding out the top five.