Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Night 27° Partly Cloudy

Game 4 matchup in Spokane

Game 4

No. 8 St. Joseph’s vs No. 9 Cincinnati

6:57 p.m. TV: Tru

St. Joseph’s (27-7)

Seed, region: No. 8, West

Location: Philadelphia, Pa.

Enrollment: 8,629

Founded: 1851

Nickname: Hawks

Conference: Atlantic 10

How they got here: A-10 tournament champ

NCAA tournament record: 18-24 in 20 appearances

Coach: Phil Martelli 392-272 in 21 seasons, all at St. Joseph’s

Marquee players: The team is led by 6-foot-7 senior forward Isaiah Miles. He leads the Hawks in both scoring (18.4) and rebounds (8.1). But the success of the team revolves around 6-6 junior forward DeAndry Bembry. He averages 17.3 points, 7.7 rebounds and 4.5 assists a game. Bembry also led his team with 46 steals. He scored 30 points and Miles had 26 as St. Joseph’s beat VCU 87-74 Sunday to earn the A-10 automatic bid. The team has been led for the past 20 years by Phil Martelli.

Famous alumni: Joseph McKenna (1843-1926), who served both the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Supreme Court; Jameer Nelson, NBA guard; Joe Lunardi, founder of bracketology; Paul Westhead, retired NBA, NCAA and WNBA coach.

Cincinnati (22-10)

Seed, region: No. 9, West

Location: Cincinnati

Enrollment: 44,251

Founded: 1819

Nickname: Bearcats

Conference: American Athletic Conference

How they got here: At-large

NCAA tournament record: 44-28 in 29 appearances

Coach: Mick Cronin 212-125 in 10 seasons, 281-149 in 13 seasons overall

Marquee players: The Bearcats display incredible balance with four starters who average in double-digits for scoring. They are led by 6-4 junior Troy Coupain, who averages 13.4 points and 4.8 assists a game. The other leading scorers are Farad Cobb, a 6-1 senior guard, (10.7); Gary Clark, a 6-8 sophomore forward (10.7, 9 rebs); and Octavius Ellis, a 6-10 senior forward (10, 7.7 rebs). Cincinnati finished fifth in the American (formerly the Big East) Conference. Temple won the regular season title but Connecticut won the conference tournament, including a four OT thriller over Cincinnati.

Famous alumni: William Taft (1857-1930), U.S. President; Oscar Robertson, NBA; Sandy Koufax, Brooklyn/Los Angeles Dodgers; Urban Meyer, Ohio State football coach, Nick Van Exel and Kenyon Martin, NBA.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review's Northwest Passages community forums series -- which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper -- by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

Active Person

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.