Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Monday, August 10, 2020  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Clear Day 63° Clear

NFL notes: Seahawks agree to signing Hester

Devin Hester is expected to sign with the Seahawks on Wednesday. (Nam Y. Huh / Associated Press)
Devin Hester is expected to sign with the Seahawks on Wednesday. (Nam Y. Huh / Associated Press)
From wire reports

The Seahawks agreed Tuesday to sign 34-year-old veteran Devin Hester, generally regarded as one of the best punt and kickoff returners in NFL history, as they continue to look for a replacement for the injured Tyler Lockett.

The signing, which was agreed upon Tuesday, is expected to become official on Wednesday, according to a league source, the Seattle Times reported. The team will waive safety Tyvis Powell to make room on the roster for Hester.

Hester is the third-leading punt returner in NFL history with 3,695 yards and 11th all-time in kickoff return yards with 11,333 in a career that dates to 2006.

He was released by the Baltimore Ravens in December after playing in 14 games, averaging 7.2 yards on 28 punt return attempts — 17th in the NFL and a bit off his career average of 11.7 — and 24.5 yards per kickoff return. He later had a tryout with New England but did not sign.

The Seahawks also signed Tyler Ott to replace rookie long snapper Nolan Frese, who placed on injured reserve four days before the playoffs begin at home against Detroit. Ott played in three games this season as an injury fill-in for Cincinnati.

Jets shakeup

The New York Jets announced Tuesday that Chan Gailey has retired after two years as Todd Bowles’ offensive coordinator, and five assistant coaches will not return following a disappointing 5-11 season.

Quarterbacks coach Kevin Patullo, running backs coach Marcel Shipp, defensive line coach Pepper Johnson, outside linebackers coach Mark Collins and defensive backs coach Joe Danna will not be back.

Osweiler to start

Brock Osweiler will start at quarterback for the Houston Texans on Saturday in their wild-card game against the Oakland Raiders. Coach Bill O’Brien announced the decision with Tom Savage, who had started the past two games, still recovering from a concussion he suffered on Sunday.

Hall finalists

First-year eligibles LaDainian Tomlinson, Jason Taylor and Brian Dawkins are among the finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, it was announced.

Other finalists include Morten Andersen, Tony Boselli, Isaac Bruce, Don Coryell, Terrell Davis, Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Ty Law, John Lynch, Kevin Mawae, Terrell Owens, Kurt Warner and Kenny Easley.

The class of 2017 will be elected on Feb. 4.

‘Pacman’ arrested

Bengals cornerback Ad-am “Pacman” Jones was jailed Tuesday in Cincinnati on charges he head-butted police and spit on a nurse after being arrested for disorderly conduct.

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper

Local journalism is essential.

The journalists of The Spokesman-Review are a part of the community. They live here. They work here. They care. You can help keep local journalism strong right now with your contribution. Thank you.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

Swedish Thoracic Surgery: Partners in patient care

 (Courtesy Bergman Draper Oslund Udo)

Matt Bergman knows the pain and anger that patients with mesothelioma feel.