Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Saturday, September 21, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Fog 46° Fog

Election Center

Richard Carson

A candidate for State Representative Pos. 1, Legislative District 18 in the 2010 Washington Primary Election

Party: Independent

On this race:

Elected Experience: No information submitted

Other Professional Experience: Currently the General Manager of Citygate Associates’ Pacific Northwest Office. We conduct performance audits of government agencies to make sure they are as cost-efficient as possible. Former Senior Policy Analyst for the Oregon Economic Development Department, for a Republican and Democrat governor, during the last recession.

Education: Bachelor of Science, Portland State University and Master of Public Administration, Lewis and Clark College

Community Service: Petty Officer 3rd Class, United States Navy; Trustee, Hockinson Public Schools Foundation; Trustee, Kit Carson Historic Foundation; former board member, Urban Land Institute; steering committee member of a citizen committee against the Bonneville Power Administration proposed power transmission lines.

Statement: I am tired of elected officials who put party politics before the voters and the Constitution. I have lost faith in the Republican and Democratic parties. They are more concerned with special interest money than they are about what we want. I refuse to take any special interest money or endorsements.

I want to get back to basics like limited government, a balanced budget, no new taxes and supporting your property rights. An Independent candidate has not been elected to the state legislature since it began in 1889. Let's make history and send Mr. Carson to the Washington statehouse!

Election results

Candidate Votes Pct
Dennis Kampe (D) 10,991 31.90 %
Ann Rivers (R) 9,359 27.20 %
Jon Russell (R) 7,718 22.40 %
Jon T. Haugen (N) 2,333 6.78 %
Brandon Vick (R) 2,033 5.90 %
Richard Carson (I) 1,424 4.14 %
Anthony Bittner (R) 575 1.67 %

Details >>


Dennis Kampe


Ann Rivers


Jon Russell


Jon T. Haugen


Brandon Vick


Anthony Bittner