Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

State 4A football champion Gonzaga Prep places two on AP first team

SEATTLE – Senior defensive lineman Evan Weaver and senior linebacker Conor McKenna of State 4A champion Gonzaga Prep were named to the Associated Press all-state football first team, announced Wednesday.

Senior offensive lineman Scott Peck and junior punter Ryan Rehkow made the 4A first team for Central Valley.

Mt. Spokane senior linebacker Dalton Dixon made the 3A first team.

Senior wide receiver Trevon Allen and senior defensive lineman Dylan Beeler made the 2A first team for Clarkston.

Lind-Ritzville/Sprague senior offensive lineman Skyler Oestreich, Northwest Christian senior kicker Joey Biel and Liberty junior defensive lineman Thomas Canning made the 2B first team.

Senior Dallas Isaak of State 1B champion Almira/Coulee-Hartline made the first team at quarterback and linebacker. Other area 1B first-team picks were Colton junior wide receivers Brady Chadwick and Grant Kinzer, Garfield-Palouse junior offensive lineman Mason Bates and Gar-Pal senior linebacker Ian Neibergs.

The players of the year were: quarterback Jacob Eason, Lake Stevens, 4A; QB Harley Kirsch, Eastside Catholic, 3A; QB Tanner Bolt, Prosser, 2A; running back Bryce Hoisington, Vashon Island, 1A; QBs Clay Ashworth, Okanogan, and Wyatt Stanley, Napavine, 2B co-players; and QB John Lesser, Liberty Christian, 1B.

Eason, a Georgia recruit, was also named state player of the year. He was selected last week as Gatorade national player of the year.